RSS

Daily Archives: June 1, 2009

June preview: More to read!

Other books from my mailbox

In my last post, I talked about the books I have scheduled for June reads. I’ve received several books for review that I’d very much like to get to during June. I don’t have specific dates on these, but I’ll try to read them as soon as I can.

Old World Daughter, New World Mother by Maria Laurino Old World Daughter, New World Mother: An Education in Love and Freedom by Maria Laurino

is a book I received for review from W.W. Norton. It sounds like a good combination of humor and thought about women’s roles.

From the description: Laurino complicates and deepens the debate between stay-at-home and working moms with the unique predicament of women caught between Old World and New World Values. With great humor and great seriousness, Laurino wisely dissects and ultimately brings peace to these “wars.”

The Crying Tree: A Novel (Hardcover) by Naseem RakhaThe Crying Tree: A Novel by Naseem Rakha

from Broadway Books is my first Shelf Awareness Book.  It sounds like a very intense, touching read.   I’m tempted to suggest it for my book club and wait until then to read it, but I probably won’t, I’ll try to read it and get a review up soon.

From the description at GoodReads.com: Irene Stanley thought her world had come to an end when her husband finds their 15-year-old son, Shep, murdered in their Oregon home. Daniel Robbin, who had spent his teenage years in and out of trouble, gave himself up to the police and was given the state’s harshest sentence: death by lethal injection..

Now, nineteen years later, as the superintendent of the state penitentiary prepares to execute Robbin, Irene Stanley must reveal what she has been hiding from her family. That in order to survive the anger and grief she had at losing her son, she not only had forgiven the man who killed him, but had come to be his friend.

The Actor and the Housewife: A Novel (Hardcover) by Shannon HaleThe Actor and the Housewife: A Novel by Shannon Hale

from Bloomsbury USA is my second SA book, following closely on the heels of my first.  It looks like pure escapist fun, and I can’t wait to get a chance to sit down with it.

From the Goodreads.com description: Mormon housewife Becky Jack is seven months pregnant with her fourth child when she meets celebrity hearththrob Felix Callahan. Twelve hours, one elevator ride, and one alcohol-free dinner later, something has happened…though nothing has happened. It isn’t sexual. It isn’t even quite love. But a month later Felix shows up in Salt Lake City to visit and before they know what’s hit them, Felix and Becky are best friends. Really. Becky’s husband is pretty cool about it.  Her children roll their eyes. Her neighbors gossip endlessly. But Felix and Becky have something special…something unusual, something completely impossible to sustain. Or is it? A magical story, The Actor and the Housewife explores what could happen when your not-so-secret celebrity crush walks right into real life and changes everything.

And more!

What apeared in your mailbox in May? Tell me in a comment or link to your blog.

I also bought some books, although I’ve shown a lot of restraint. Yay me! I picked up The Wednesday Sisters when I was at Kepler’s Books for a book club event. Costco impulse purchases include Vision in White by Nora Roberts and Certain Girls by Jennifer Weiner. I also thought I’d grabbed Wit’s End by Karen Joy Fowler, but either it is lost in my trunk, or I successfully fought off the urge to buy it.

Of course, like any good book “collector”, I have a really large pile of older books that I still want/need to get to.

Please help!

What I still need is books to listen to!  I’ve got a long list of books I want to read, some of which are probably available in audio format.  If anyone has suggestions of books, particularly those available from Netlibrary or Overdrive, I’d appreciate them.  My library may or may not have them, but I’ll check!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2009 in books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

June preview: scheduled reads

I don’t think I had this much reading scheduled since I was in school! I’m looking forward to each of these books.

Scheduled Reads

Of Bees and Mist: A Novel (Hardcover) by Erick SetiawanOf Bees and Mist: A Novel by Erick Setiawan

This is the Barnes & Noble First Look Book for June. This is my first time participating in this program, and I’m looking forward to discussing this book on-line throughout the month. Thank you to B & N for sending the book my way.

From the description: Of Bees and Mist takes place in a nameless town during a timeless era, where spirits and spells, witchcraft and demons, ghosts and clairvoyance — both real and imagined — are an everyday reality. Setiawan skillfully blends the real and the fantastical as he follows our heroine over a 30-year time span in which her love, courage, and sanity are tested to the limit.

Beach Trip: A Novel by Cathy HoltonBeach Trip: A Novel by Cathy Holton

is the June Read for the Books on The Brain Summer Reading Series on 6/16. Thank you to Lisa Munley (of Books on the Brain) for arranging for my copy of the book. I may need to schedule some time at the beach to read this one!

From the description on Amazon.com:
Mel, Sara, Annie, and Lola have traveled distinct and diverse paths since their years together at a small Southern liberal arts college during the early 1980s. […] Now the friends, all in their forties, converge on Lola’s lavish North Carolina beach house in an attempt to relive the carefree days of their college years. But as the week wears on and each woman’s hidden story is gradually revealed, these four friends learn that they must inevitably confront their shared past: a failed love affair, a discarded suitor, a betrayal, and a secret that threatens to change their bond, and their lives, forever. Darkly comic and deeply poignant, Beach Trip is an unforgettable tale of lifelong friendship, heartbreak, and happiness.

Interred with Their Bones by Jennifer Lee CarrellInterred with Their Bones by Jennifer Lee Carrell

is Book Club L’s June read,  date not yet set– probably mid to late month.  I discovered this book at Book Group Expo last year.  I’m looking forward to it as a fun read, and I hope there will also be enough to discuss as well.

From the GoodReads.com description: Jennifer Lee Carrell’s highly acclaimed debut novel is a brilliant, breathlessly paced literary adventure. […] From London to Harvard to the American West, Kate races to evade a killer and solve a tantalizing string of clues hidden in the words of Shakespeare, which may unlock one of history’s greatest secrets.

The Black Dahlia (Paperback) by James EllroyThe Black Dahlia by James Ellroy

is Book Club M’s book for our July 6 meeting.  I probably won’t get to it in June, but I’ll go ahead and list it here in case I decide to read ahead.  One of our members found this on a list of top 25 novels in the past 25 years, and nominated it.  I don’t know much about it.

From The Great Book List: With this novel, Ellroy invented neo-noir crime fiction and elevated himself from genre novelist to serious writer of literature. The Black Dahlia is the first book in Ellroy’s L.A. Quartet, a cycle of novels set in 1940s and 1950s Hollywood. The Quartet continued with The Big Nowhere, L.A. Confidential, and White Jazz. Based on the true story of the murder of Elizabeth Short, the novel follows two fictional detectives as they try to solve the crime and as they do, they reveal a city of corruption and depravity.

In another message, I describe the other books I want/need to read in June.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2009 in Book Club, books, L, M

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

May wrap-up

bookstackI’ve read 12 books in May, which is well above my expectations– my goal is 4 paper and 4 audio books.  To get to twelve, I’ve almost stopped listening to podcasts, and have fallen behind on my TV viewing.  My daughter’s class was at science camp, giving me some extra reading time, which certainly helped.   I’m not sure this rate will be sustainable :-).

This brings my total books read for the year up to 45 books, with 19 of them being audiobooks.

So:

Paper

Audio

The most enjoyable book this month was definitely The Hunger Games. The best was probably The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao , although (as I said in my review) I need another read to really appreciate it.   I probably got as much from Sag Harbor.

It was a good book club month.  I enjoyed all 3 books I have listed– Book club M has two books here, since it meets on the first Monday of the month.  I had to read it in  May to be ready for the June 1 meeting!

I’m looking forward to another month of reading.  I’ve got two posts planned, with the reading I already have planned to take me into June.

How was your May reading?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2009 in blogging, books

 

Tags: , ,