RSS

Review: Comfort Food by Kate Jacobs

08 May

Comfort Food Comfort Food by Kate Jacobs

My review

rating: 3 of 5 stars
This book is a fairly low 3 stars for me. As I was listening to this book, it just wasn’t quite working for me. I kept trying to figure out what (if anything) was wrong with it. I wanted to enjoy this book as entertaining fluff. Was I just not in the mood for it? The characters should have been interesting. The plot should have been amusing. Why wasn’t it coming together for me?

I felt like I should have liked Gus, the single parent who has worked her way to the top of the food TV world. I should have been interested in her two adult daughters, who are dealing with being related to a celebrity as well as the everyday business of their own lives. I should have been sympathetic to the reclusive neighbor when her big secret is revealed. I should have loved or hated the beautiful upstart who is given a spot co-hosting with Gus. Instead, I just didn’t care about them or the various men that held the plot lines together.

I normally don’t mind a book jumping between character viewpoints, since I feel it gives me a chance to get to know the characters better by seeing them through each others eyes. In this case, I think it interrupted any bonds I might have formed with them.

The plot centered on Gus being told she must boost the ratings on her TV show. Along the way, she (and the characters above) have unexpected things happen and get a chance to straighten out their quirky lives. There were too many little things happening to have time to have anything big happen– even when there were events that should have been significant. The ending was too pat for my tastes as well.

In the end, I don’t think there was anything really wrong with the book, except that the author didn’t quite pull off what she was trying to do.

View all my reviews.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2009 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Review: Comfort Food by Kate Jacobs

  1. J. Kaye

    May 8, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Your blog was mentioned as A Book Blogger’s New Discovery by Book by Book.

    Hope others will discover you too!

     
  2. Mary

    May 8, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Hi, saw your blog mentioned at J. Kaye’s so I though I’d visit. I read Comfort Food last year (won it from a giveaway!). I rated it the same as you. 3/5 on Goodreads.

    I’ll come back later and check out the rest of your blog. Have a great weekend!

     
  3. Sue

    May 8, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    I’ve read books like that before, too – where you really think you should like it but it just doesn’t work for you. Thanks for the review –

    Sue

     
  4. Britt

    May 11, 2009 at 9:34 am

    That was more or less how I felt about this one too. It just didn’t quite work.

     
  5. Wendy

    July 3, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment on my review of this one 🙂 A lot of people liked it, but it didn’t “do it” for me…just like you, there was just something I found wanting.

     

Leave a Reply

 
