RSS

Technical difficulties: Hot Blooded by Lisa Jackson

24 May

Check the end of my not-quite-a-review for some ranting about my technical difficulties in listening to this book.

Hot Blooded (Zebra Romantic Suspense)Hot Blooded by Lisa Jackson

My review

Unfortunately, I will not be giving a full review or rating of this book due to technical difficulties in listening to it.

I’ve read other books by Lisa Jackson, and I enjoyed them.  I don’t find them particularly memorable, but I have that problem with a lot of books, and it is part of why I’m now writing these reviews.

I did enjoy it in spite of the problems, and am currently checking out the next book in the series.

The technical difficulties

I listen to about half of the books that I read.  I currently download these from 3 sources: Audible.com (where I pay for them) and (through my local library) Overdrive.com and Netlibrary.com .

Until very recently, all downloaded audio from Overdrive and Netlibrary was in WMA format, which meant that it couldn’t be played on an Ipod.  As I don’t own an Ipod, this was fine with me.  I selected a player* that worked well with audiobooks in this format, and life was good.

Now, both services are switching to MP3 as their format.  In theory, this is a good thing.  I’m hoping that my experience with this book was a fluke or was fixed by a firmware upgrade to my player.  I’ll find out soon.

The details

I got off to a bad start, through no fault but my own.  Netlibrary’s WMA books are one really long file, but this book was broken into 11 files of about 1.5 hours each.  Somehow I managed to start listening on part 2.  It took me half an hour to realize the author wasn’t just making interesting choices in how she introduced characters, but that something was actually wrong.  I listened to the first part without additional incident (that I noticed.  My timeline was a little scrambled due to what I’d already heard).

I made it part way through the second section when again, something was wrong.  I couldn’t rewind or fast forward on my player without the book going wonky, and I suspect, but I am not certain, that there were other playback issues as well. 

I hoped the problem was just with that part, but that did not prove to be the case. When I had a problem on my player, I would move to my computer for the rest of that section. I ended up listening to the last third of the book on my computer, which isn’t ideal for me, but I made it through the book.

I’m hoping that the problems were particular to this book (unlikely) or were fixed by a firmware upgrade (somewhat more likely).  I didn’t spend much energy on trying to characterize the problem.  Quick scans of various message boards didn’t show any discussion, but I didn’t look very hard.

If the problem happens again, I’ll put some real effort into troubleshooting.  I just hope the problem is easily resolved.

*I use a Creative Zen player.  I’ve been very happy with it up until now.  I’m a big fan of the bookmarks for use with audiobooks.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2009 in books

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Technical difficulties: Hot Blooded by Lisa Jackson

  1. J. Kaye

    May 25, 2009 at 9:09 am

    All I can say is what a technical nightmare! I purchase an MP3 just to download audios from the library. I’ve never used a paying source as of yet.

    As far as LJ on audio, I prefer her books in a reading format. LOST SOULS was good in audio, but SHIVER wasn’t. That book was better read.

     
  2. Yvonne

    May 26, 2009 at 3:40 am

    I’m sorry you had so many technical problems with this one.

    I haven’t read a Lisa Jackson book in awhile, but I do have many of them in my TBR.

     

Leave a Reply

 
