RSS

Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

22 May

The Hunger Games The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

My review

rating: 4 of 5 stars

I really want to give this book 5 stars simply on the basis of being a really good read. I can’t quite justify it, so consider it a 4 3/4 star rating, since it is a compelling, entertaining and thought provoking experience. I kept looking for opportunities to listen to just a few more minutes.

The Hunger Games shows us a far future, where civilization as we know it has been destroyed. A new society has been set up. Each district has a well defined role, and all are kept under very tight reign by the government. One of the tools used to keep the people frightened and under control is the Hunger Games. Teens are picked by a lottery system for a fight to the death.

The book introduces us to Katniss, then follows her into the pomp of the Capital, then the horror of the Games.

I really enjoyed getting to know Katniss, and seeing the other characters through her eyes. The character is smart, tough, and able to do what needs to be done, taking care of her family after her father dies and her mother is crippled by depression. She is able to take her skills into the games, but also her compassion.

I was impressed how well the author walked the line of keeping the book exciting and compelling without it being icky or frightening.

I do have to say that parts of the book felt familiar. I’m not sure if this book will stick with me, or if I’ll want to reread this book when the sequel comes out in September. I can say I’ll be watching for the sequel, and quick to read it when it is released.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on May 22, 2009 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

  1. Sharon

    May 23, 2009 at 6:10 am

    This sounds like a good book. I love listening to books, especially when they hold your attention like that. I’ll have to put this on my wish list.

     
  2. bermudaonion

    May 26, 2009 at 11:34 am

    I really want to read this because I’ve heard such great things about it. The plot does remind me of the movie The Running Man, though.

     
  3. Susan @ Reading Upside Down

    May 27, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    This book is in my TBR pile. I really need to move it to the top, as I keep hearing such great things about it. I really need to make sure that I read it before the sequel comes out.

     
  4. Sue

    May 29, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    Suzanne Collins is one of our favorite authors – we all loved her Gregor the Overlander series – and both my husband and my 14-yo son say that The Hunger Games is the best book they’ve read in the past year. I’ll be reading it in a few weeks on vacation!

    Thanks for the review –

    Sue

     
  5. Ashlie

    November 16, 2010 at 6:53 am

    I had mixed feelings about this book.. they were mostly negative, though. I didn’t find myself interested. Check out this review on my blog if you want.. http://ppbooks.wordpress.com/2010/11/14/review-the-hunger-games-by-suzanne-collins/

     

Leave a Reply

 
