RSS

Review: Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

17 Jan

Hush, Hush My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

I’m guessing it’d get at least another half star from me if I was within the target audience. Sometimes, young adult books work seamlessly for me, sometimes I feel old when I read them.

From the publisher’s website:

Romance was not part of Nora Grey’s plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws Nora to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For she is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those who have fallen — and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost Nora her life.

I couldn’t help but think of Twilight and Fallen when I read Hush, Hush. This book is missing most of the things that most annoyed me about either of those. In the end, I liked it better than Fallen, but it wasn’t quite the guilty pleasure that I found Twilight.

I really liked how the book set up the story with the brief scene in the prologe. The reader is given a framework for the mythology. When the details about angels come out later, it doesn’t come out of nowhere.

I liked the characters. I found them fairly interesting, even if their teen-ness distanced me from them. I’m never thrilled with the whole obsessive love thing, but this was actually pretty well handled. I liked the plot. It kept my interest as I tried to figure out each character’s role.

Altogether, it was readable and entertaining.

I received this book for review from the publisher. Thank you to Simon and Schuster for this opportunity.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2010 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Review: Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

  1. sheri

    January 17, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    I also read this. I didn’t like it nearly as much as my daughters did. I agree that it is along the lines of Twilight.

     
  2. Pam

    January 24, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    I really didn’t love this book either. I would love to read Fallen!

     

Leave a comment