RSS

Review: In Tongues of the Dead by Brad Kelln

27 Jan

In Tongues of the DeadMy rating: 3.5  of 5 stars

I enjoyed the story of In Tongues of the Dead, but the writing style didn’t entirely work for me.

See the ECW Website for a detailed summary of the book.

In Tongues of the Dead is a book  in the same vein as The Da Vinci Code, with action and chases and puzzles and high ranking officials in the Catholic Church that will do absolutely anything to protect their secrets. The adventure was well executed, and both the action and the puzzles kept me involved in the story.

The unique twist of this book was the addition of angels and Nephilim (the result of crossbreeding of angels and humans).

As an aside, I found it odd to read this book after reading Hush, Hush and Fallen, two recent YA books featuring fallen angels, which appears to be a trendy topic in the genre. In Tongues of the Dead is a very different style of book, but I did keep flashing back to the other two simply due to the shared mythology they pulled from.

I liked the characters, and wished they’d been a little more fully realized, so that I could have gotten to know them better. I found the pieces I did have of them (past and present) to be teasers, making me want more.

The down side of this book for me was the writing. As I frequently state on this blog, what I want from writing is for it to deliver the story and stay out of my way. I kept being distracted by the words themselves, which seemed a little stilted, and kept the story from flowing cleanly.

I’ll put the same comment here as I did in my review of Tainted: There is a young child in jeopardy in this book. This may or may not be an issue for you, of course.

Overall, I still enjoyed In Tongues of the Dead, even while recognizing potential areas of improvement.

Thank you to ECW Press and their Shelf Monkey program for allowing me to participate, and providing In Tongues of the Dead for review.

As an aside, I found it odd to read this book after reading Hush, Hush and Fallen, two recent YA books featuring fallen angels, which appears to be a trendy topic in the genre. In Tongues of the Dead is a very different style of book, but I did keep flashing back to the other two simply due to the shared mythology they pulled from.
 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2010 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Review: In Tongues of the Dead by Brad Kelln

  1. Nicole

    January 28, 2010 at 4:31 am

    Fallen Angels do seem to be a very hot property. I’ve only read Hush, Hush so I interested in learning a bit more of the mythology because it left me confused.

     
  2. Marce

    January 28, 2010 at 11:11 am

    I have an Award for you here.

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2010/01/awards-thank-you.html

    It is interesting you can enjoy a book even though you don’t like the writing style, I think thats great.

     
  3. Pam

    February 2, 2010 at 12:20 am

    This doesn’t sound like my cup of tea, Hush Hush wasn’t great also and I am reading Fallen right now and I just want it to be over so I can move on.

    @Nicole if you want to know more about fallen angel lore then research abaddon and you can go from there.

     

Leave a Reply

 
