RSS

My January Reading

02 Feb

My reading for 2010 is off to a good (if not outstanding) start. My reviewing is running a little behind that pace!

So far
7 paper books
4 audio books
11 books total

On paper:

In audio:

  • Zeitoun by Dave Eggers
  • Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winifred Watson
  • Borderline (Anna Pigeon Mysteries, #15) by Nevada Barr
  • The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Now I need to decide– am I going to review everything I read?  If so, I need to get my rear in gear.  If not, I need to figure out what criteria I use.  Obviously, I’ll write up any review books I read.   I probably want to comment on (if not review) all book club books. Beyond that, maybe it will just be my whims… What should I take into account in deciding?

Coming up, I have Love Walked In by Marisa de Los Santos (which I’m really looking forward to) for my book club L, Loving Frank by Nancy Horan (which I’m quite curious about) for my book club M, and Dream House by Valerie Laken (which really sounds intriguing) for a TLC book tour.

I hope you had a good reading month in January, and than February is even better!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2010 in books, summary

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “My January Reading

  1. CMash

    February 3, 2010 at 6:00 am

    WTG on your January wrap up. Since this is my 1st year ever of challenges, I thought I was doing good…lol according to your list I need to do a lot better…Thank You for giving me a kick in my butt to read more
    http://cmashlovestoread.blogspot.com

     
  2. Jennifer @ Mrs. Q: Book Addict

    February 3, 2010 at 9:53 am

    January was a great reading month for me as well. You’ve read some great books last month. Hope, February brings you great books as well.

     
  3. Pam

    February 3, 2010 at 11:05 am

    I only review what stuck with me for the good or the bad. I can’t find the words otherwise “meh” doesn’t really cut it haha.

     
  4. Lisa

    February 3, 2010 at 11:14 am

    I have got to get back to the library for audio books. I find it so helpful to be able to get through the tbr list so much faster when you can “read” books when you couldn’t otherwise. I also picked up some things that I don’t know if I would have if I had to read them.

     
  5. Kari

    February 3, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    I wish I could download Overdrive on my work computer, because I’d get through a lot more books if I could listen during the day. I could put them on my ipod but I never think of it ahead of time. My numbers are super low this month. How was January surprisingly busy! It doesn’t help that I started the year with a 600 page memoir.

     
  6. Sue

    February 3, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    I really liked Loving Frank (I also read it for a book group). I haven’t read Miss Pettigrew but loved the movie with Frances McDormand!

    As for what to review, I decided to focus my book blog on really good books – books I enjoyed very much – so my blog would serve as a source for good recommendations. As you probably know, I’m taking a leave of absence, but I still posted a review this week after reading a book I really loved! It’s fun sharing great books with others!

    Sue

     
  7. nanscorner

    February 3, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    Wow! I am so jealous of the amount of books you read I only finished 2 in January. My favorite was Unwind by Neal Shusterman. I really hope I can read more than 2 in February!

     
  8. Laura at Im Booking It

    February 3, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Thanks, everyone!

    Pam– I think the reviews I like best are the ones where I’m conflicted about the book, because it gives me a chance to sort through my thoughts.

    Lisa– I love Overdrive! I also appreciate being able to read when I otherwise couldn’t– particularly when driving and playing computer games :-).

    Kari– Good luck with February! Sometimes it’s better to focus on quality, rather than quantity :-).

    Sue– I’ve heard a range of things about Loving Frank, I suspect I’ll enjoy it. I picked up the audiobook for Miss Pettigrew because I really liked the movie. I kept picturing the characters from the movie as I listened– I don’t think that’s ever happened to me before!

    Good luck with your LoA– I hope you are able to focus where you need to!

    Nanscorner– Luckily, I’m a fast reader :-). I have Unwind coming up for one of my book clubs in a couple of months, and am looking forward to it. Good luck with February!

     
  9. Tina

    February 8, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    What a great start you’re off to, and what a great discussion on whether and what to review. I don’t have a hard and fast set of rules for myself, other than to promise that if I accept a review copy, I’ll read and review it, or else find someone who will. I try to review most of the books I read, sometimes doing only what I call a ‘mini-review’ which tends to be more a splurt of what I think about a book without a full dissertation of plot, setting, characters, etc.

    I keep a running total on one of my LT threads, and always try to post at least 4-6 sentences (about 100 words) about anything I pop the spine on.

     

Leave a Reply

 
