RSS

My 2012 Oscar thoughts

24 Feb

moviesOnce again, I’ve made the effort to see all 9 Best Picture nominees!  I’m a little late writing this up, with the Oscars being on in a few hours…

Here are my thoughts on what I liked and/or thought should win.  Starting at the end of the list:

9. Django Unchained is clearly my least favorite of the group, and although I can somewhat see what the appeal could be for someone else, I really don’t have any idea why it would be Best Picture material.

I actually wouldn’t be terribly unhappy if any of the rest of the nominees won.  I can understand why each and every one was nominated.  This is a strong field.

8. Life of Pi was visually stunning, and was interesting to think about.  I actually felt the movie worked better than the book, which I was more mixed in my opinion about  But I think the other candidates were stronger.

7. Les Misérables ranks higher on my favorites of the year, and I really do think this production was excellent.

6. Beasts of the Southern Wild was a fascinating look at a life very different from what I (or most viewers) know.  I wouldn’t have seen it if it wasn’t for the Oscar nomination, since it really wouldn’t have crossed my radar, and I’m glad I did.

From here on, I have a difficult time ranking which I think should get the Oscar, so I’m going in the order of how much I liked them.

5. Zero Dark Thirty is a movie I expected to rank back with Django Unchained.  I would not have seen this movie if it wasn’t for the Oscar Nomination, and I expected to dislike it.  I didn’t.  I can’t say I enjoyed it, exactly, but I thought it was extremely well crafted.  I thought it took an interesting and somewhat balanced look at a specific set of issues involved in modern warfare.  I don’t care if it reflects actual events correctly, detail by detail, not for this movie or the other two nominees based in actual events.

4. Lincoln was everything is was reported to be, but somehow I didn’t love it anyway.  Still, I came out of it expecting it to be a leading Oscar contender, and it certainly has the nomination count for that, but it doesn’t have the buzz that leads me to think it is likely to win, and that surprises me a little.  I’m not complaining, though!

3. Amour is another movie that wouldn’t have crossed my radar if it wasn’t for the Best Picture nod.  It’s also another one where I really appreciated it, although I can’t say I enjoyed it.  I found it a deeply disturbing look at the aging process, and I think it hit exactly the notes it meant to.  I absolutely recommend seeing it, but be prepared!

2. Argo is the movie I’m expecting to win, and I’m fine with that.  I think it was very well made, and provides a look into an episode in our past, while telling a quirky story, and showing how thinking outside the box can be very good problem solving.

1. Silver Linings Playbook was my favorite from this list.  I think that providing this insight into the world of mental illness is valuable, and it also was an entertaining movie.  It was able to balance the line between making fun of the mentally ill and pitying them.  The performances were all top notch.  I’ll hope for some awards for it tonight!

My two favorite movies of the year are not on this list.  I was hoping my top pick would make it, but Moonrise Kingdom was only nominated under Best Original Screenplay. I never thought my second favorite movie would make the list, The Hunger Games just wasn’t that sort of movie, but I enjoyed it anyway.

Which movies did you see?  Which did you like best?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2013 in movie, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “My 2012 Oscar thoughts

  1. themisanthropologist

    February 24, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    I also watched all the Best Picture nominees. I think I liked Argo the best, then Life of Pi. The other’s were ok, but I didn’t love them all that much. Actually, with Life of Pi, it’s hard not to be biased because I had read the book before watching the movie.

    I think the movies this year are very gritty and dramatic, with some focusing on hard truths of human existence (Beasts of the Southern Wild, Zero Dark, Django…). I don’t know who I’m rooting for though…

     
  2. diane

    March 3, 2013 at 11:09 am

    Thanks for the write up on the movies. I like how you discribe them but don’t give away any details.

     

Leave a comment