RSS

August Wrap-up

03 Sep

August.

A month spent watching Olympics.

My daughter getting injured, starting a new sport and starting high school.

Me trying to adjust to a new MP3 player since my beloved Creative Zen player died.

With dueling kitten cams to watch (one set of kittens is now adopted out, so I’m back to only one litter)

Through that, I did still get some books read.

Print Books

  1. The Baker’s Daughter by Sarah McCoy
  2. 12.21: A Novel by Dustin Thomason
  3. 1222 (Hanne Wilhelmsen #8) by Anne Holt
  4. The Prophet by Michael Koryta

Nook  Books

  1. Breakup (Kate Shugak #7) by Dana Stabenow

Audio Books

  1. The Submission: A Novel by Amy Waldman
  2. Sworn to Silence (Kate Burkholder #1) by Linda Castillo
  3. Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu
  4. Summer Knight (The Dresden Files #4) by Jim Butcher
  5. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  6. Crewel World (A Needlecraft Mystery #1) by Monica Ferris
  7. A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty: A Novel by Joshilyn Jackson

This brings my yearly totals to 101 books read:  29 paper books, 19 Nook books and 53 audio books.  I’ve now reached my basic target of 100 books for the year, but I’m lagging just a little beyond the pace for my expanded goal of 150 books for the year, and significantly behind last year’s 122 books read at this point.  This is not a point of concern, merely of interest.

My top reads for the month (which stand a chance of making my list of top books of the year) were The Baker’s Daughter by Sarah McCoy and The Submission by Amy Waldman. Both of these would make excellent Book Club discussion books (and The Sumission did!). Overall, it was an enjoyable set of books this month, with only one significant disappointment– Catch-22 reads much better at age 20-something than 40-something, my book club all agree.

For September, I know I’m reading The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes for my book clubs, and The Salt God’s Daughter by Ilie Ruby for review.

How was your August?  What are you looking forward to reading in September?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2012 in books, summary

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “August Wrap-up

  1. Nish

    September 4, 2012 at 3:46 am

    I thought I was the only one who used Creative MP3 player. I love it. All my friends use some version of the iPod, but I am very attached to my Creative 🙂

     
    • Laura

      September 4, 2012 at 9:13 am

      Nish, what model of Creative player do you use? I’m missing mine badly, and I think I need to move back to Creative, but I haven’t been able to confirm that the newer models still support audiobooks well.

       
  2. Leslie

    September 4, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    I sympathize with your mp3 player anguish. My little Sansa player died last month and the replacement model is a bit different. Sometimes I think once I find something I like I should buy 10 of them!

     
  3. Howard Sherman

    September 5, 2012 at 8:35 am

    I was glued to my TV during the games – day and night. Flashbacks to four years ago when I caught the games every night in an Indianaoplis Bennigan’s after a long day of exhibiting my interactive fiction work at GenCon.

    Not much reading for me in August. I knocked off two books – and one of them was from Audible.

     

Leave a Reply

 
