RSS

Armchair BEA: Introduction

04 Jun

The big book event every year is Book Expo America (BEA).  Publishers, bookstore owners, writers, and now, bloggers gather together in New York to find out about upcoming books, industry trends, and most of all, meet each other.

I was able to go 2 years ago, but regular trips to New York are not part of my lifestyle.  Other people in the same boat organized Armchair BEA to allow those of us at home to experience some of the fun of BEA.

Today, all participants are encouraged to introduce themselves, so we can all meet one another, and maybe my regular readers will learn more about me as well.  The format was a list of suggested questions, and a suggestion of answering 5 of them.

Introducing Laura

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

My name is Laura, and I’m currently a Mom at Home.  I have been for 14 years now. I used to be in the high tech world, but that has been left behind.  About 5 years ago, I decided I should try to figure out what I want to do when I grow up.  I still haven’t figured it out.

A little over 3 years ago, I set out with a friend to explore social media.  We started up on Twitter and Facebook, and I decided to start a blog.  All I had to do was figure out what I could talk about, and even pretend to myself that anyone might be interested in reading.  It didn’t take long, given that I ran two book clubs, read more than anyone I knew, and had started successfully tracking my reading on Goodreads.  I tried out Blogger and WordPress.com, picked WordPress, and off I went.

What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2012?

I currently am reading Spy Mom by Beth McMullen, the followup to my favorite read of last year, Original Sin.  I’m listening to Very Valentine by Adriana Trigiani. I’m taking a short break from Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson, which I’m reading for book club, but our meeting was postponed.    My favorite book so far this year is probably The Rook by Daniel O’Malley, but it has competition for that spot.

Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you.

Well, I was born in Phoenix, Arizona.  My family moved around a lot when I was small, and I lived by the Grand Canyon, in small town Northern Californa, in Texas, and in Germany before we settled in Las Cruces, New Mexico for most of my elementary school years, and then back to Phoenix for my middle school/high school years.  I headed to Southern California to attend Harvey Mudd College, where I majored in Mathematics.  I’ve been in Silicon Valley ever since graduation.

Have your reading tastes changed since you started blogging? How?

My tastes haven’t really changed, but my selection of books has.  Some of it is simply a much greater exposure to more titles.  Also, oddly enough, I’m much more selective about books for review than I am books from the library, or impulse buys, so I’m reading a more carefully considered collection, overall.

Where do you see your blog in five years?

I have no idea.  I hope I’ll still be enjoying blogging.  I hope I’ll have figured out what I want to do when I grow up, and that I will continue to have the time/energy for blogging.  I’m sure I’ll still be reading, and I’ll always want to talk about books.

To meet other bloggers participating in Armchair BEA, visit the Linky.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on June 4, 2012 in blogging

 

Tags: ,

18 responses to “Armchair BEA: Introduction

  1. Marg

    June 4, 2012 at 5:39 am

    Blogging definitely opens you up to lots of titles that you wouldn’t necessarily otherwise know about!

    Hope you enjoy Armchair BEA this week.

     
  2. zettew

    June 4, 2012 at 5:57 am

    Laura,

    I enjoyed reading your Armchair BEA Introduction post! I’ve been following your blog for a while, but it’s great to learn a little more about you. I’m also an ex-corporate person trying to figure out what I want to do when I grow up! (I thought I’d have it figured out by now!) Hope you have a great BEA week!!!

    Muzette

     
  3. Libby

    June 4, 2012 at 7:28 am

    Hi! I enjoyed reading your answers. And, I also have to say that you have one of the coolest blog designs that I have seen! I love, love, LOVE how this looks like a leather portfolio…very neat and classic. I really must do something about sprucing up my blog – LOL!

     
  4. Ryan

    June 4, 2012 at 8:09 am

    I made a promise to myself when I started blogging, the day I no longer enjoy it will be the day I hang up my hat. Hope you have a great week!

     
  5. Becky B. (Bibliognome)

    June 4, 2012 at 8:23 am

    Happy Armchair BEA to you. 🙂

    Gotta agree with you on how blogging really expands how you look at books and lets you discover just how many great books and authors are out there.

     
  6. stephscottil

    June 4, 2012 at 9:00 am

    I think you have to be selective on what you read or you’d be buried in a mountain of books! I feel the same way. I used to take anybody’s recommendation, now I’m more choosy. I try to stay open to new genres, but I weigh where the recommendation comes from. Still, some books I would have never considered had someone not recommened, I ended up really liking.

     
  7. Kailia

    June 4, 2012 at 9:15 am

    Blogging did introduce to me to books I wouldn’t have otherwise known about! You studied math in college?! I wish I liked math but I like a lot of people, loath it! I’m an English person!

    ~Kailia

     
  8. Alanna @ The Flashlight Reader

    June 4, 2012 at 9:27 am

    I don’t think my reading tastes have changed either since starting my blog. I’m more open to books that I probably wouldn’t pick up on my own, but that’s about it. I still love fantasy and fairytales, and they make up a large part of my reading. I still refuse to touch non-fiction. =)

    The Flashlight Reader

     
  9. Leslie

    June 4, 2012 at 10:43 am

    Blogging has changed my reading in a similar way… I’m exposed to many more books than just the new arrivals shelf at the library or bookstore!

    I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up either. And now that I’m looking for a new job I suppose I’ll have to decide pretty soon.

     
  10. Caribousmom

    June 4, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    Laura: Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier! I never realized how well traveled you’ve been (and at a young age, too!). Have a great Armchair BEA!

     
  11. Jessica B (@booksatruestory)

    June 4, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    Wow you’ve lived all over! I’ve even been to almost all of those places (well, except Germany). Honestly, I don’t think you ever have to figure out what to do when you grow up. Just do what you love and who cares how much it changes 🙂 So nice to meet you!

     
  12. Kristin T.

    June 4, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    I loved Adriani Trigiani’s Valentine series and can’t wait for the next one to come out. Have you read her latest book, The Shoemaker’s Wife – it’s amazing!

    Here’s my Armchair BEA Intro Post.

     
  13. Brunette Librarian

    June 4, 2012 at 4:49 pm

    I had no idea where I was going to go in five years – the possibilities are limitless. 😀
    It was wonderful “meeting” you 🙂 Armchair BEA @ the Brunette Librarian

     
  14. Sue Jackson

    June 4, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    I enjoyed your intro. Despite reading your blog for many years, I still learned some new things! You have a fascinating history, moving around and living in so many interesting places. We love to travel.

    Please stop by my blog and check out my Big Book Summer Challenge, my first-ever! You only need to commit to one big book (over 400 pages) this summer to participate.

    http://bookbybook.blogspot.com/p/2012-big-book-summer-challenge.html

    Sue

    Great Books for Kids and Teens

    Book By Book

     
  15. Tea Time with Marce

    June 4, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    We are exposed to so many books, I agree we have to be selective, that keeps us focused and enjoying reading more for sure.

    I have enjoyed following your blog for awhile now.

     
  16. booksandmoviescarriek

    June 4, 2012 at 6:58 pm

    You’re listening to one of my favorites – both author and narrator! The person who hired Cassandra Campbell to read Trigiani’s books was brilliant. 🙂

     
  17. poofbooks

    June 4, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    Welcome to Armchair BEA12 such a pleasure to read this post. You shared some books I had not previously had on my radar especially your favorite thus far THE ROOK.

    Your past sounds interesting and I doubt that you can leave behind being a high tech gal especially living in Silicon Valley. I am sure there is more to come from you Laura.

     
  18. Chrystal @ Snowdrop Dreams of Books

    June 6, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    Nice to meet you! 🙂 Hope you are enjoying Armchair BEA. I have been hopping around like crazy trying to meet everyone. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
