RSS

March/April Wrapup

02 May

I’m behind on my blogging.  I even missed my 3 year blogging anniversary in April.

I’m so behind that this post covers two months of reading wrap-up!  I’m still reading lots of books, just not writing about them as much.  In late March/early April, I was having trouble really getting into any books, but I think I’m back on more solid ground again.

I’m posting approximately one review a week, trying to keep this blog alive.  These are primarily books I received for review, although I hope to get some book club books back in the mix soon.

Print Books

  1. The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani (review coming Friday!)
  2. Wild Thing (Peter Brown #2) by Josh Bazell
  3. The Idea Factory: Bell Labs and the Great Age of American Innovation by Jon Gertner
  4. Hystera by Leora Skolkin-Smith
  5. After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall by Nancy Kress
  6. The Chalk Girl (Kathleen Mallory #10) by Carol O’Connell
  7. Cruising Attitude: Tales of Crashpads, Crew Drama, and Crazy Passengers at 35,000 Feet by Heather Poole

Nook Books

  1. Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare*
  2. Blind Your Ponies by Stanley Gordon West
  3. The Maze Runner (Maze Runner #1) by James Dashner
  4. The Spellman Files (The Spellmans #1) by Lisa Lutz*
  5. Weddings Can Be Murder by Christie Craig
  6. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins*
  7. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins*
  8. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins*

Audio Books

  1. A Wild Pursuit (Duchess Quartet #3) by Eloisa James
  2. So Much to Tell You (So Much to Tell You #1) by John Marsden
  3. Swim Back to Me by Ann Packer
  4. Always Time to Die (St. Kilda Consulting #1) by Elizabeth Lowell
  5. Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane
  6. Second Grave on the Left (Charley Davidson #2) by Darynda Jones
  7. Just Kids by Patti Smith
  8. Relic (Pendergast #1) by Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
  9. Beauvallet by Georgette Heyer
  10. Ice Cold (Rizzoli & Isles #8) by Tess Gerritsen
  11. Baltimore Blues (Tess Monaghan #1) by Laura Lippman
  12. Eclipse Bay (Eclipse Bay #1) by Jayne Ann Krentz
  13. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins*
  14. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins*
  15. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins*
  16. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline*

A careful observation will show that I went on a bit of a Hunger Games spree after the movie.  After seeing it on the big screen, the books had an even stronger impact on me.  I’m not normally a visual reader, but I can now see the impact of having a visual in your head while reading.  I carried this through all the books when I revisited them.  This was during the time I couldn’t get into anything else I was reading, so I ended up taking a second trip through.  I moved back and forth between my Nook and MP3 Player.

I consider rereads (marked with a *) to be ineligible for top read nominations, which leaves The Shoemaker’s Wife as my clear top choice, followed by So Much to Tell YouThe Chalk Girl, Wild Thing, Blind Your Ponies, Swim Back to Me, Second Grave on the Left, Relic and Ice Cold round out the list of books I’d recommend out of this set.

So, adding these two months to the previous two takes me to 53 books read this year:  14 print books, 11 Nook books, and 28 audio books.

May’s books include How to Eat a Cupcake by Meg Donohue and Night Swim by Jessica Keener for my book clubs and The Lola Quartet by Emily St. John Mandel as a new book by a favorite author.  I’m also looking forward to Insurgent by Veronica Roth.  I’m still hoping to get back into the swing of writing more reviews as well.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2012 in books, summary

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “March/April Wrapup

  1. Well-Read Reviews (@wellreadreviews)

    May 2, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    Well, happy belated 3 year bloggaversary. 🙂

     
    • Laura

      May 2, 2012 at 2:40 pm

      Thank you!

       

Leave a Reply

 
