RSS

January Reading Wrap Up

02 Feb

2012 is off to a good start, as far as reading goes.  Other areas aren’t as fabulous– losing our family’s kitty was the think I’ll remember most about this month.  With other family excitement as well as losing my MP3 player, it’s a wonder I read anything at all.  I did, and much of it was really good.

So, I start off 2012 with 12 books read:  4 paper books, 2 Nook books, and 6 audio books.

Here”s the summary!

Paper Books

  1. The Gap Year by Sarah Bird
  2. Dreaming of Mr. Darcy (Austen Addicts #2) by Victoria Connelly
  3. The Rook by Daniel O’Malley
  4. Gun Games (Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus #20) by Faye Kellerman

Nook Books

  1. Divergent (Divergent #1) by Veronica Roth
  2. Wish Upon a Star by Sarah Morgan

Audio Books

  1. Crossed (Matched #2) by Ally Condie
  2. Edge of Evil (Ali Reynolds #1) by J.A. Jance
  3. Hot Rocks by Nora Roberts
  4. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  5. A Trick of the Light (Chief Inspector Armand Gamache #7) by Louise Penny
  6. Bury Your Dead (Chief Inspector Armand Gamache #6) by Louise Penny

I also have two books I didn’t finish.  One I checked out from the library as an e-book, and it expired before I finished reading it, largely because I was trying to finish the other DNF book before book club.  Since I didn’t want to do that, I listened to the two Louise Penny books instead, because they were really, really good.

This was an average month, quantity-wise, but it was amazing as far as quality.  My favorite book of the month was The Rook, followed closely by Ready Player One, but the two Louise Penny books could easily have taken than honor many other months, Divergent really impressed me, and I really liked The Gap Year.

I started getting back on track with reviews (beyond the 4 linked above, I have two more mini-reviews I wrote this month), but then backslid a bit.  I think February will be better.

How was your January?  What are you looking forward to in February?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2012 in books, summary

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “January Reading Wrap Up

  1. Sue Jackson

    February 2, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    I also read Divergent this month and enjoyed it. Wow, how did you get through 6 audios in a single month? That’s a lot! I got through one short one and about half of another. Then again, I am rarely alone, so I don’t have a lot of time to listen.

    Looks like you had an excellent reading month – nice way to start off the year! Very sorry to hear about your kitty, though.

    Sue

    Great Books for Kids and Teens

    Book By Book

     
    • Laura

      February 3, 2012 at 8:50 am

      I am alone much of the time, so audiobooks keep me company. 6 a month is average for me!

      Thank you for the thoughts on my kitty.

       

Leave a Reply

 
