RSS

October Wrap-up

04 Nov

In many ways, I could copy my September summary here.  I’m still happy with the quantity of my reading, although I may be more excited by the quality of the books I read in October.

What I’m still not happy with is how many reviews I actually have been writing.  I’d like to say that will improve in November, but I’m not sure it actually will…

Paper Books

  1. Elephant Run by Roland Smith
  2. Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi
  3. Defending Jacob by William Landay
  4. A Brisket, a Casket (A Deadly Deli Mystery #1) by Delia Rosen
  5. The Revisionists by Thomas Mullen

Nook Books

  1. You Are My Only by Beth Kephart

Audio Books

  1. Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World’s Most Wanted Hacker by Kevin D. Mitnick, William L. Simon
  2. Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue (The Cynster Sisters Trilogy #1) by Stephanie Laurens
  3. In Pursuit of Miss Eliza Cynster (The Cynster Sisters Trilogy #2) by Stephanie Laurens
  4. A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
  5. Completely Smitten  (Hometown Heartbreakers #9) by Susan Mallery
  6. I’d Know You Anywhere by Laura Lippman
  7. Murder in Chinatown (A Gaslight Mystery #9) by Victoria Thompson

This brings my totals for the year to 147 books read (almost to my goal of 150!).  This breaks down to 60 paper books, 70 audio books, 15 Nook Books, 1 other e-book, and 1 book in multiple formats.

The best book I read this month isn’t actually out until the end of January.  Defending Jacob is a legal thriller and family drama, and works very well on both counts.  I loved the strong voice of the lead character.  My review will post in January.

I also want to call out The Revisionists (a crazy time travel thrill ride), You Are My Only (a gorgeous little chunk of emotion), and In Pursuit of Miss Eliza Cynster (an incredibly fun romp of a romance).

I spent a couple of days at NCIBA, and had a chance to talk to publishers as well as local booksellers.  I listened to authors tell me about their books.  I came home excited about reading and reviewing again!  I was then hit by a crazy week, but hopefully I get back to more regular reviews here.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2011 in books, summary

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “October Wrap-up

  1. Vasilly

    November 5, 2011 at 8:08 am

    You’re doing great with your goal? Are you going to increase it once you hit 150? I love how you broke everything down by format. I should do that. I hope you’re having a great weekend.

     
  2. bookmagics

    November 11, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    I have got to start the gaslight mysteries, they sound good

     

Leave a Reply

 
