RSS

August Wrap Up

04 Sep

First, I want to mention that I have temporarily stopped accepting review books and tour stops.  I won’t reject unsolicited books that appear on my doorstep, but I’m trying hard to back off accepting commitments.

I’d originally been thinking this would be through December.  Now I’m thinking I’ll accept a few commitments for November and December just to keep me moving!

My mailbox is sad, and my Mailbox Monday posts (or lack thereof) reflect this, but I think it will be good to catch up a little.

So, on to books read in August:

Paper Books

  1. Murder Most Persuasive (Elizabeth Parker Mystery #3) by Tracy Kiely
  2. The Revealers by Doug Wilhelm 
  3. Devotion: A Memoir by Dani Shapiro
  4. The Urban Fantasy Anthology by Peter S. Beagle (Editor), Joe R. Lansdale (Editor)
  5. Domestic Violets by Matthew Norman 
  6. Goodie One Shoes by Roz Siegel 
  7. Money Can’t Buy Love by Connie Briscoe 
  8. How I Made It to Eighteen: A Mostly True Story by Tracy White

Audio Books

  1. Her Royal Spyness (Her Royal Spyness Mysteries #1) by Rhys Bowen
  2. Persuasion by Jane Austen
  3. Kitty Takes a Holiday (Kitty Norville #3) by Carrie Vaughn
  4. Storm Front (The Dresden Files #1) by Jim Butcher 
  5. To Say Nothing of the Dog: Or How We Found the Bishop’s Bird Stump at Last by Connie Willis
  6. We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson
  7. Agent to the Stars by John Scalzi
  8. Chasing Fire by Nora Roberts

I was shocked to discover how many books I’d read, and even more than that, how many reviews I wrote.  I’ve been sick for going on 3 weeks now, and I was really knocked out for the first two.  I must have really been on fire for the first half of the month– 16 books read, 11 reviews written.  I made some real progress on catching up my review backlog as well!

So, my reading totals for the year stand at 122 books read: 51 paper books, 58 audio books, 11 Nook books,  1 other e-book, and 1 book in multiple formats.

My favorite book of the month would be Domestic Violets, with an honorable mention to my re-listen to a favorite, To Say Nothing of the Dog.

Plans going forward? Book club books, getting caught up, more books I read simply because I want to.  I’m really planning to get back to an audiobook review every Friday, and one or two print book reviews each week.

How was your August?  What are your September reading plans?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2011 in books, summary

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “August Wrap Up

  1. Kim V

    September 5, 2011 at 5:47 am

    You had a great reading month! And I take it Domestic Violets was a stand out read? I’ve heard terrific things about it.

     
  2. BermudaOnion

    September 5, 2011 at 6:15 am

    Wow, you had a great month in spite of being sick. I loved Domestic Violets too!

     
  3. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out

    September 13, 2011 at 1:06 am

    That’s a great accomplishment!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

     

Leave a Reply

 
