RSS

Review: Bath Tangle by Georgette Heyer

03 Aug

Bath TangleMy rating: 4 of 5 stars

What fluffy fun this was!

Summary via Goodreads:

Two temperamental hearts in the glittering Regency might be lucky enough to have a second chance at love!
Lady Serena Carlow’s eccentric father left her guardianship to the man she jilted, and now Ivo, the Marquis of Rotherham has complete control over her! Serena is displeased to say the least. But when she spends time with the Marquis, she can’t help but wonder if the feelings stirred up are sheer aggravation or of a more tender nature…

I was never really in doubt that everything was going to turn out well for the main characters, and (once each situation was set up) I could pretty much see where it was going. This didn’t detract from my enjoyment at all, but allowed me to sit back and enjoy the ride.

It was quite a ride, with tangle after tangle in the romance department, everyone with the wrong people, some of them realize it, some don’t, no one wants to hurt anyone else– how DO you undo such a knot?

Serena was a fabulous character, a strong woman that didn’t care what others thought about her, one that could hold her own on horseback with any other rider. I did think she seemed a bit younger and more naive than her 26 years, but given her upbringing and the time period, perhaps it wasn’t that surprising.

Ivo, Marquis of Rotherham, was also fun to read, as he brooked no nonsense from anyone– and he was continually provoked, sometimes in very entertaining ways. Mrs. Floore was a larger than life character as well, a wealthy woman whose children and grandchildren moved in the right circles, ones she knew she didn’t fit into. She was devoted to her granddaughter, who, with her engagement, became part of the Tangle referred to in the title.

The language of this book had its own rhythm, one that spoke of an earlier time. It did take me a short while to settle into, but it was never a problem. It added to the flavor of the book.

This was a quick read, and I was thoroughly entertained.

Thank you to Sourcebooks for sending me this book to review.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2011 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Review: Bath Tangle by Georgette Heyer

  1. Mystica

    August 3, 2011 at 7:06 am

    Fluffy fun in the most delightful way.

     
  2. bookmagic

    August 3, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    I love a Heyer book to cleanse my brain. They are always so fun. The Grand Sophy was awesome

     
  3. Diane

    August 4, 2011 at 8:35 am

    Thank you so much! I love Georgette Heyer. I can always count on her to clear my head and lift me up. I haven’t read this one . . . yet. Now I will!
    Thanks again!

     

Leave a Reply

 
