RSS

Review: Things We Didn’t Say by Kristina Riggle

06 Jul

Things We Didn't Say: A NovelMy rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have to start out by saying I had somewhat mixed feelings about this book. I found it very well written, so much so that I found it a very uncomfortable read at times.

Summary via Goodreads:

What goes unsaid can sometimes speak the loudest . . .

What makes up a family? For Casey it’s sharing a house with her fiancÉ, Michael, and his three children, whom she intends to nurture more than she ever took care of herself. But Casey’s plans have come undone. Michael’s silences have grown unfathomable and deep. His daughter Angel seethes as only a teenage girl can, while the wide-eyed youngest, Jewel, quietly takes it all in.

Then Michael’s son, Dylan, runs off, and the kids’ mother, a woman never afraid to say what she thinks, noisily barges into the home. That’s when Casey decides that the silences can no longer continue. She must begin speaking the words no one else can say. She’ll have to dig up secrets—including her own—uncovering the hurts, and begin the healing that is long overdue. And it all starts with just a few tentative words. . . .

Things We Didn’t Say is a very character centered novel. All the characters were collections of problems and issues, with a few good characteristics that showed through. I admit, I’m more used to lead characters that are generally good, competent people, with enough flaws to keep them real, and this was part of my discomfort with the book– I was never entirely sure I liked any of the characters.

However, even if it wasn’t comfortable, it was real. The story was compelling, and the experience of reading it got so intense for me at one point that I did something I don’t think I’ve ever done before. I peeked ahead to the ending, so that I could continue reading without the stress of worrying about the end result.

In the end, I found it intense, compelling, and very, very real.  I was very satisfied with the experience.

I read Things We Didn’t Say as part of a TLC Book Tour. Thank you for the opportunity to read and review this book. For other opinions, check out the other tour stops:


 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2011 in books, reviews, tour

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Review: Things We Didn’t Say by Kristina Riggle

  1. Marce

    July 6, 2011 at 7:22 am

    Great review, I quite like when books make the reader uncomfortable, what a reaction. And you looked ahead, naughty naughty, lol.

    I look forward to more reviews, very intrigued.

     
  2. Teresa

    July 6, 2011 at 7:52 am

    I thought this one might be a good book. It is tough to read a book in which you don’t really like any of the characters. Great review, I’m adding it to my list now.

     
  3. bookmagic

    July 7, 2011 at 5:48 am

    Hmm, I will have to think about this one

     
  4. Heather J. @ TLC

    July 8, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    It’s funny, we want our reads to feel real but when they do it’s sometimes too real for comfort. Still, it makes for a compelling read when that happens!

    Thanks for being on the tour Laura. I’m featuring your review on TLC’s Facebook page today.

     

Leave a Reply

 
