RSS

Review: The Dead and the Gone by Susan Beth Pfeffer (guest post)

29 Jun

This is a guest post by my 13 year old daughter.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Dead and The Gone is not normally the type of book that I read. I am not that big a fan of the end of the world type of book.That being said, however, I did really enjoy this book as well as Life as We Knew It.

As is it did for Miranda in Life as We Knew it everything changes when the asteroid hits the moon. I found the fact that Alex was just a normal teen with parents and two younger sisters at the beginning of the book gave the story a creepy sense of realism. Now Alex is alone in New York City with no parents and two younger sisters relying on him.

I found the balance between the creepy and corpsey-ness of the outside world and the struggles that Alex, Bri, and Julie are facing as everything they knew disappears was very well thought out.

One of the best things about this book was the characters. I really felt like I got to know each of the them. I also felt like almost all of the people had a lot of developing to do. This helped me connect with the characters as well as making them seem more real.

I found the developing of Alex and Julie’s relationship from two siblings that took every chance they could to get at each other to being at uneasy truce to finally realizing that they needed other. I found Julie’s journey from being a “12 year old baby” to a mature teenager by the end of the book was interesting and realistic and made for a good sub plot.

On the other hand I found some of the descriptions disturbing and as my friend pointed out I now have a fear of elevators.

Overall I found that this book had a good plot and was well written.

Amelia is 13 years old, and will be entering 8th grade in the fall.  When she isn’t at school, dance or practicing rhythmic gymnastics, there’s a good chance she’ll be reading a book!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2011 in books, Guest post, reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Review: The Dead and the Gone by Susan Beth Pfeffer (guest post)

  1. Laura @ Bunny Tales

    June 29, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    I usually do like end-of-the-world books and I didn’t even know about this one. Sounds like I should put it on my TBR list! 🙂 Thanks for the review!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
