RSS

May Reading Wrap Up

01 Jun

Hmmm, an odd month for me, with lots of audio fluff, and not a lot of review writing.

  • Audio Books
    1. The Sins of the Fathers (Matthew Scudder #1) by Lawrence Block
    2. The Brutal Telling (Armand Gamache #5)  by Louise Penny
    3. Happy Ever After (Bride Quartet #4) by Nora Roberts
    4. Dare to Die (Death on Demand #19)  by Carolyn Hart
    5. Legend in Green Velvet by Elizabeth Peters
    6. The Serpent’s Shadow (Elemental Masters #2) by Mercedes Lackey
    7. The Help by Kathryn Stockett (re-read)
  • Print Books
    1. The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home by Dan Ariely
    2. Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg
    3. A Drop of the Hard Stuff (Matthew Scudder #17)  by Lawrence Block
    4. Promises to Keep (Newford #21) by Charles de Lint
    5. Almost Home (Chesapeake Diaries #3) by Mariah Stewart
    6. Wrecker by Summer Wood
  • Nook Books (none this month!)
  • Other e-books
    • The Last Unicorn (Graphic Novel) by Peter S. Beagle, Peter Gillis, Renae De Liz, Ray Dillon (Review scheduled for June)

This brings my yearly total to 73 books read: 30 paper books, 35 audio books, 6 Nook books, and 1 other e-book.  This isn’t quite on track to make 150 books this year, but it’s pretty close, and I’m not going to worry about it.  If I decide I care, I can follow the example of some of my daughter’s classmates, who realized they were approaching the end of the school year without reading & logging the suggested number of books, and went on a marathon of Magic Treehouse & Doctor Suess books :-).

I’m more concerned about writing only 8 reviews.  I did keep up on my review commitments, and I’m only slightly short of my preferred minimum of 2 reviews a week.

Counting The Help as the outstanding book of the month seems like cheating, since in was already my 2009 book of the year.   Other highlights of the month were The Last Unicorn  and The Brutal Telling.

I’m slightly over-scheduled for June.  Hopefully this helps me keep writing reviews.  For book clubs, I’m reading The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein and Every Last One by Anna Quindlen.  For tours, I’m reading Folly Beach by Dorothea Benton Frank, The Art of Saying Goodbye by Ellyn Bache, Things We Didn’t Say by Kristina Riggle, and The Case for the Only Child by Susan Newman.

Also, June is Audiobook Month!  I’ll be celebrating Audiobook Week next week along with Jen at Devourer of Books, and trying to post more audiobook reviews throughout the month.

How was your May?  How is your June looking, reading-wise?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2011 in books, summary

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “May Reading Wrap Up

  1. Marce

    June 1, 2011 at 8:01 am

    I think I may just try Brutal Telling instead of reading in order. Everything about The Help for the movie is totally me, I should really read it first.

     
  2. Sniffly

    June 1, 2011 at 8:56 am

    I’ve been wanting to read the original “The Last Unicorn” for awhile now, did you read that one or just the graphic novel form?

     
  3. Tina B

    June 1, 2011 at 10:32 am

    Your month sounds like mine, I’m still drafting my list but I did manage to get in several reviews.

    But……………I never call my audios “bluff” – often the ‘ear/eye candy’ of non-review books is what we need to clear our brains from some of the heavier stuff.

    And I realize I’m way overscheduled for June so we’ll just have to keep on reading. Enjoy your summer.

     
  4. Vasilly

    June 1, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    I didn’t write a lot of reviews in May either. I’m hoping to change that this month too. Good luck on your reviewing. Thanks for letting me know about Doorways in the Sand. It sounds like something I will love. I’m adding it to my reading list! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
