RSS

Mailbox Monday

29 May

My mailbox looks a little like this one!Welcome to Mailbox Monday!

Mailbox Monday is a place to share all the wonderful books that have come to live in your home– including paper books, e-books and audio books.

Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia, who is now blogging at A girl and her books. When Marcia was ready to move on from being the weekly host, she was kind enough to set up the Mailbox Monday Blog Tour,

Mari @ Mari Reads is the May host!  In June, it is moving on to Bluestocking.

As for my mailbox:

Books for review!

The Case for the Only Child: Your Essential Guide by Susan Newman

What’s really wrong with having one child? Is one enough for you? For your partner? What constitutes a complete, happy family? Will your only child be lonely, spoiled, bossy, selfish? Read this book and find out.

My daughter is an only child, and I’ve long since come to peace with this being the right decision for our family, but I’m always interested in data on the subject.  When I was offered a chance to review it for a TLC tour, I jumped on it– even though my June schedule was already nuts.  I’m a little skeptical, of course, but definitely excited to pick it up.

Grace Interrupted (Manor of Murder, #2) by Julie Hyzy

On the grounds of Marshfield Manor, Civil War re-enactors have set up camp. And what a dedicated troupe! One of them has really been killed..

I liked the first book in this series, and was eager to read the second!

Dire Threads (Threadville Mystery, #1) by Janet Bolin

Willow Vanderling’s quaint new embroidery shop is not a hit with the local zoning commissioner. When he’s murdered, the evidence is stacked against Willow.

And that’s pretty much all I know about this one. Still, I was in the mood to start reading some new cozy series, and so I took a chance!

Books Won!

My American Unhappiness

by Dean Bakopoulos

“Why are you so unhappy?” That’s the question that Zeke Pappas, a thirty-three-year-old scholar, asks almost everybody he meets as part of an obsessive project, “The Inventory of American Unhappiness.” The answers he receives—a mix of true sadness and absurd complaint—create a collage of woe. Zeke, meanwhile, remains delightfully oblivious to the increasingly harsh realities that threaten his daily routine, opting instead to focus his energy on finding the perfect mate so that he can gain custody of his orphaned nieces. Following steps outlined in a women’s magazine, the ever-optimistic Zeke identifies some “prospects”: a newly divorced neighbor, a coffeehouse barista, his administrative assistant, and Sofia Coppola (“Why not aim high?”).

A clairvoyant when it comes to the Starbucks orders of strangers, a quixotic renegade when it comes to the federal bureaucracy, and a devoted believer in the afternoon cocktail and the evening binge, Zeke has an irreverent voice that is a marvel of lacerating wit and heart-on-sleeve emotion, underscored by a creeping paranoia and made more urgent by the hope that if he can only find a wife, he might have a second chance at life.

The Book Maven said to tweet a favorite book club read to be entered to win a copy of this  book.  I tweeted, and I won!  Yay!

Books Bought:

At Audible.com, I bought The Sins of the Fathers: The First Matthew Scudder Mystery, which I’ve wanted to read since finishing A Drop of the Hard Stuff.

I also took the advice My Friend Amy gave when I interviewed her, and bought Patricia Hickman’s The Pirate Queen on my Nook.

Your turn

What came in your mailbox this week? Let me know, then go to Mari Reads to check out others!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2011 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Diane@BibliophileBytheSea

    May 30, 2011 at 3:54 am

    Hoping to get a copy of My American Unhappiness; enjoy all of your new books.

     
  2. BermudaOnion

    May 30, 2011 at 4:17 am

    I’ll be interested to see what they say about only children in that book since I have one too. He’s 23 now and will remain an only child. Enjoy your new books!

     
  3. laurelrainsnow

    May 30, 2011 at 4:54 am

    Oh, what intriguing book titles today! Hope you enjoy them all.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

     
  4. Mary

    May 30, 2011 at 5:24 am

    They all look like good reads, enjoy!

     
  5. rbclibrary

    May 30, 2011 at 6:19 am

    The cozies look great. Have a happy Memorial Day.

     
  6. Mystica

    May 30, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    All of them look intriguing! enjoy

     
  7. gautami tripathy

    May 30, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    Wonderful mailbox!! Have a great reading week. I received only one book in my mailbox!!

    Here is my Monday: Mailbox/What Are You Reading?/Musings post!

     
  8. Beth(bookaholicmom)

    May 30, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    The cozy mysteries look like fun reads. Cozies always have the best covers and titles!

     
  9. AlisonCanRead

    May 30, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    I’m very curious about the Only Child book. I am an only child and will do almost anything to make sure I have at least two children. I think most adult only children I know would say the same. There are definite benefits to being an only child, but I miss having a sibling.

     
  10. Leslie

    May 30, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    I may be repeating myself here, but I just love the Matthew Scudder series. The first book is good but they get even better a few books in. Enjoy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
