RSS

Armchair BEA: Introducing Amy from My Friend Amy

24 May

My main regret about missing BEA and the Book Blogger Convention this year is missing the chance to meet and hang out with other book bloggers. Armchair BEA is giving us a chance to do this by arranging a set of round robin interviews. It’s a chance to get to know each other, and for all of us (readers and bloggers alike) to discover new blogs.

I’m being interviewed by Holly from Book Harbinger. You can head to her blog to learn more about me.

I’m very, very happy to be talking with Amy from My Friend Amy! I met her last year at BEA, and she’s every bit as nice in person as she is on-line, but we didn’t really get much time to talk to each other. She’s got a fantastic blog, and she seems to be involved in almost every exciting activity in the book blogosphere, including being one of the organizers of Armchair BEA!

Here’s our interview!

You are so active in the blogging community that it’s hard to imagine that anyone doesn’t know you and your blog! For anyone that doesn’t know you already, tell us a little about you, how you started blogging, and what your blog is like.

My name is Amy, and I’ve been a lifelong reader. I started blogging about books when I working at a job that revolved around reading and books and I wanted an outlet to talk about them. Then I discovered book bloggers rocked. I don’t even think I can put into words how much some individual book bloggers have changed my life. It’s been an amazing experience that I wouldn’t trade for anything. My blog doesn’t have a clear focus, apart from being about books. The strongest theme I have is on how faith is portrayed through literature, something I can’t seem to get enough of.

What upcoming summer or fall book are you most looking forward to? Do you have a copy of it yet? Will you read it as soon as you get it, or set it aside to savor the experience?

This is a really difficult question to answer because there are a few books I’m REALLY looking forward to. One book I’m really anticipating is Dancing on Glass by Pamela Ewen. Her book The Moon in the Mango Tree is one of the bravest books about women/faith/vocation/motherhood, etc I’ve ever read. I’ve been promised a copy but I’m still waiting for it.

You cover a lot of Christian Fiction on your blog, including hosting the Faith and Fiction roundtable discussions and co-founding the INSPY awards. I’d love a recommendation for a book to start with: Contemporary fiction, where the main character’s faith isn’t the primary focus of the book, but informs his/her decisions. Something that isn’t preachy.

Great question, thanks for asking! I suggest Patricia Hickman’s The Pirate Queen. I feel like this book very effortlessly and organically addresses the faith of the characters without ever being preachy. It’s also beautifully written and feels so emotionally honest and true.

I know you also have some favorite TV shows! What are you looking forward to watching this summer?

The summer is such a tough time when most of my shows go on hiatus, but I’m definitely looking forward to the final season of The Closer. I’m also planning on giving Falling Skies and Teen Wolf a shot. 😉

What plans do you have on your blog for the rest of BEA week?

I’m going to go with the flow and post on the Armchair BEA topics!

Part of the fun of BEA is going and doing something fun away from the convention itself. Are you doing something fun and non-book related this week?

I hope to finally see Something Borrowed, as that movie is based on, wait for it, a favorite book. So I guess, no, I’m not. 🙂

I’m always amazed at how involved you are in blogger activities! What are some ways that you’d suggest that other bloggers can get involved, and help give back to the book blogger community?

I think the number one rule is don’t be shy! Volunteer to help with activities and events that are already in process like Armchair BEA, BBAW is coming up and I’m going to need help with that, the Readalong always needs volunteers. You might be surprised by how good it feels to help out the community and just how much fun it can be, too!

Thank you to Amy!   I’ve got The Pirate Queen on my Nook already! If her blog isn’t already in your feed reader, go visit her at My Friend Amy. Visit the Armchair BEA blog for a list of other blogger interviews!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2011 in blogging

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Armchair BEA: Introducing Amy from My Friend Amy

  1. Chrisbookarama

    May 25, 2011 at 5:09 am

    I’ll have the look for The Pirate Queen. Events always need volunteers. It’s a great way to get to know people. Great interview!

     
  2. AlisonCanRead

    May 25, 2011 at 5:13 am

    Amy is definitely a big presence in the blogging community. I would like to be as involved in blogging events as she is.

     
  3. Rebecca Rasmussen

    May 25, 2011 at 6:55 am

    How wonderful! I love this interview! And seeing the two of you together! XOXOX

     
  4. Amy @ My Friend Amy

    May 28, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Thanks for hosting me Laura and thanks everyone for reading!

     

Leave a Reply

 
