RSS

Armchair BEA: Who I am and how I armchair

23 May

Hello to everyone stopping by, whether you are a regular reader or stopping by my blog for the first time.

Last year at this time, I was in New York for the my very first visit there.  The occasion was BEA (Book Expo America) and the BBC (Book Blogger Convention).  It was a wonderful experience, but not one I’m going to be able to repeat on a yearly basis.

So this year, I’m participating in Armchair BEA, a chance to network with other Book Bloggers that also aren’t able to attend BEA this year.  Today’s blog post theme is ” Who are you, and how do you Armchair?“.

So:

Who am I?

I’m a 40-something book lover and mom.  I love to talk about books.  I run two book clubs, in an effort to feed this desire in real life, but I also like sharing my views on-line.

I read a little of everything– check out the list of reviews in my sidebar to see what kind of range I cover.    Almost half of my reading is in audio format– I can listen while doing many other things, including writing this post.

How will I armchair?

I’m hoping to have all my normal blog posts (Mailbox Monday and hopefully 3 reviews) as well as the Armchair BEA posts.  I plan to participate in Wednesday’s Interview exchange.  And from there, we’ll see what time and interest permit.

My biggest interest is in using this event to connect with bloggers– those I met last year at BEA, those I only know on-line, those I haven’t met at all until this week.  If you leave a comment here, I’ll do my best to stop by your blog and comment in return.   (I usually try, but haven’t been as successful as I’d like recently).

Blogger, author or reader, thanks for stopping by!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 23, 2011 in blogging

 

Tags:

10 responses to “Armchair BEA: Who I am and how I armchair

  1. Teresa

    May 23, 2011 at 8:42 am

    Hi there, thank you so much for stopping by my blog. Looking at your reviews, you’ve hit quite a few that I want to read. I look forward to getting to know you and your blog.

     
  2. stilettostorytime

    May 23, 2011 at 9:27 am

    I also went to NYC and the events for the first time last year. It’s a little overwhelming…I don’t think our paths crossed. It’s nice to “meet” you and armchair together this year.

    Courtney

     
  3. lisa

    May 23, 2011 at 10:33 am

    hi Laura, thanks for stopping by my blog! i’ve never been to BEA, so i’ll be interested to hear how you enjoy Armchair BEA in comparison to the New York events.

     
  4. Pussreboots

    May 23, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    Hiya! Waving from east bay.

    Unless I’m ill or traveling (and don’t have access to the internet), I post a review each and every day. Come learn more about me and my blog.

     
    • Laura

      May 23, 2011 at 1:22 pm

      Will you be able to keep that up once your daughter is no longer reading picture books?

      I’ve settled on ~12 reviews a month as being sustainable for me, given how long it takes me to read a book and write a review.

       
  5. Andrea

    May 23, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    Nice to meet you! You are so lucky you got to go to BEA last year! I’d love to have that experience…although, NYC isn’t a place I’m too keen on visiting

     
  6. Mary

    May 23, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    I’m lucky if I get 6-8 reviews posted/month. I listen to maybe one audiobook/month. This is a busy year for me though. I enjoy your blog and reviews!

     
  7. Leslie

    May 23, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    I’m doing Armchair BEA too. Someday I’d like to attend the actual convention but this is not the year. Lately half my reading has been audio books too. There are so many things I can do and still listen to books… it’s addicting.

     
  8. The1stdaughter (Danielle)

    May 23, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    With up to nearly 500 participants I think you’ll definitely “meet-up” with some great new/old book bloggers! BEA is definitely a once every few years kind of thing.

    On behalf of the Armchair BEA organizers thanks so much for participating! We really are so happy to have you!

     
  9. Crystal F

    May 24, 2011 at 5:46 am

    I’m in awe that you can listen to an audiobook and post. I listen while I drive, while I walk, when doing tedious work and sometimes while cooking, but I can’t seem to listen and blog. It’s like I can’t divide my concentration and I miss out on the audiobook. That said I love my audiobooks – it definitely adds to my book total each month!

     

Leave a Reply

 
