RSS

Mailbox Monday

08 May

My mailbox looks a little like this one!Welcome to Mailbox Monday!

Mailbox Monday is a place to share all the wonderful books that have come to live in your home– including paper books, e-books and audio books.

Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia, who is now blogging at A girl and her books. When Marcia was ready to move on from being the weekly host, she was kind enough to set up the Mailbox Monday Blog Tour,

Mari @ Mari Reads is the May host!

As for my mailbox:

Books for review:

This was an amazingly cool week for me as a book blogger.  I had two packages arrive, both unexpectedly.  One was a book by one of my all time favorite authors.  One was an audiobook by an author my daughter really enjoys!

Promises to Keep by Charles de Lint

Jilly Coppercorn, one of de Lint’s beloved characters, is faced with a life-changing choice. With the help of a mentor and an anonymous benefactor, Jilly has overcome abuse, addiction, and even a stint in juvie. Though she still struggles to stay clean and make ends meet, Jilly feels safe and loved by her newly-formed family, including her loyal best friend Geordie, the lovely artist Sophie Etoile, and her caseworker, the angel of Grasso Street.

Then Jilly is given a tempting opportunity riding in from the past on an oversized motorcycle. Her best friend Donna from the bad old days, now transformed into a tattooed bass-player in a rockabilly band, takes Jilly into a beautiful, mysterious city. It is a place full of wonderful opportunities and delights that at first seems perfect.

But increasingly loud whispers arising from the city’s canals are reminding Jilly that she still has unfinished business in Newford.

Charles de Lint has been writing Urban Fantasy since before Urban Fantasy was popular, and he writes it beautifully! I’m looking forward to learning more about Jilly’s past and her journey to the Jilly in the later Newford books.

The Throne of Fire (Kane Chronicles, Book 2) by Rick Riordan  (Author) and Kevin R. Free and Katherine Kellgren  (Narrators)

Ever since the gods of Ancient Egypt were unleashed in the modern world, Carter Kane and his sister Sadie have been in trouble. As descendants of the House of Life, the Kanes have some powers at their command, but the devious gods haven’t given them much time to master their skills at Brooklyn House, which has become a training ground for young magicians. And now their most threatening enemy yet–the chaos snake Apophis–is rising. If they don’t prevent him from breaking free in a few days’ time, the world will come to an end. In other words, it’s a typical week for the Kane family. To have any chance of battling the Forces of Chaos, the Kanes must revive the sun god Ra. But that would be a feat more powerful than any magician has ever accomplished. First they have to search the world for the three sections of the Book of Ra, then they have to learn how to chant its spells. Oh, and did we mention that no one knows where Ra is exactly? Narrated in two different wisecracking voices, featuring a large cast of new and unforgettable characters, and with adventures spanning the globe, this second installment in the Kane Chronicles is nothing short of a thrill ride.

If you ask my daughter, she’ll say she likes audiobooks.   However, she rarely listens, and when we put one on in the car she usually tunes out very quickly.  She has listened to a few all the way through, but I’d begun to think she likes the idea more than the actual act of listening.

I’d barely had a chance to open the box containing this one before she grabbed it from me.  Most of the time when she’s at her computer, she has it playing, and she’s making great progress through it, so I think I can already say it’s a hit.  I wish it’d arrived before our recent road trip for her last rhythmic gymnastics competition of the season!

Your turn

What came in your mailbox this week? Let me know, then go to Mari Reads to check out others!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2011 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. notjustlaura

    May 8, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    I’m with your daughter on audiobooks – I like the concept but really prefer to do the reading myself.

    Here’s my Mailbox Monday:

    http://notjustreading.wordpress.com/2011/05/09/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-mailbox-monday-14/

     
  2. BermudaOnion

    May 9, 2011 at 4:38 am

    I think listening to audio books takes a little getting used to and it sounds like your daughter has figured it out. Enjoy the new books!

     
  3. Booklover Book Reviews

    May 9, 2011 at 4:55 am

    Always so nice to get a surprise in the post – enjoy!

    BTW – thanks for that audiobook recommendation!

     
  4. Mary

    May 9, 2011 at 4:56 am

    What a great mailbox for you and your daughter! There are some audiobooks that I’ve stopped listening to because the narrator just doesn’t work for me – I get distracted so it’s not worth the time if I need to keep backtracking, so I get your daughter’s experience. Luckily, lately that hasn’t been my experience. I’ve enjoyed the past 3 or 4!
    Have a good week 🙂

     
  5. Beth(bookaholicmom)

    May 9, 2011 at 6:12 am

    I get distracted easily when I listen to audiobooks. I am wondering if I am just a print reader or if maybe I just haven’t found the right narrator. After reading about your daughter’s success with her recent audiobook maybe I’ll give them a try again.

     
  6. Diane

    May 9, 2011 at 9:02 am

    The only time I can stay focused on an audiobook is when I’m doing something mindless with my hands. Folding laundry. Ironing. Dishes. I find ABs endlessly entertaining then. But, like the rest of you, I lose focus – particularly if my hands aren’t kept out of mischief.

     
  7. Anna (Diary of an Eccentric)

    May 9, 2011 at 10:06 am

    I love the Promises to Keep cover. Enjoy your new books!

     
  8. mary Ann Langan

    May 9, 2011 at 10:21 am

    Enjoy! your week of books.

     
  9. pk reeves

    May 9, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    Sounds as though you and daughter came up with some winning reads. Hope the narration is perfect 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
