RSS

April Wrap Up

04 May

April started off as a rough month for me.  I can remember being so sick I couldn’t read.  I can’t remember being so sick I can’t listen to audiobooks.  That part only lasted a day or so, thank goodness.

The month ended with a family road trip to take my daughter to her end of season competition.  It was a good trip, but not conducive to reading!

For most of the month, I had trouble getting back in the swing of things, largely sticking with fluffy books.

  • Audiobooks
    1. Seduce Me at Sunrise (The Hathaways #2) by Lisa Kleypas
    2. Grave Sight (Harper Connelly #1) by Charlaine Harris
    3. The Wizard of London (Elemental Masters #5) by Mercedes Lackey
    4. The Alchemist’s Apprentice (Venice #1) by Dave Duncan
    5. Written in Bone by Sally Walker
    6. The Unit by Ninni Holmqvist (review posting tomorrow)
    7. The Sugar House (Tess Monaghan #5) by Laura Lippman
    8. The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson (review coming next week)
  • Print books
    1. Heart of Deception by M.L. Malcolm
    2. The Bird Sisters by Rebecca Rasmussen
    3. Married with Zombies (Living with the Dead #1) by Jesse Petersen
    4. The Cat, the Lady and the Liar (A Cats in Trouble Mystery #3) by Leann Sweeney (review coming soon)
  • Nook Books
    1. Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us by Daniel H. Pink
    2. The Cat, the Professor and the Poison (A Cats in Trouble Mystery #2) by Leann Sweeney
    3. Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Sausages by Tom Holt (review coming soon)

This gives a total of 15 books read, although that’s a little misleading.  One book has been in progress since last year (Drive, for a read-along with a group at my daughter’s school).  Many were quick and fluffy.  One audiobook was aimed at a middle grade audience and clocked in at under 4 hours.  Anyway, this brings my totals for the year to date to 59 books read: 24 paper books, 6 Nook books, and 28 audio books.

My favorite book of the month  was The Unit, which also made for fantastic book club discussion. I’d also like to call out The Cat, the Professor and the Poison, which is very close to a perfect example of a cozy mystery, Married with Zombies, which was tremendous fun, Written in Bone,which was a fascinating look at forensic anthropology, even while being aimed at kids ages 11 and up, and The Bird Sisters, a wonderful debut novel by a fantastic author.

I published 11 reviews, whch isn’t bad.  I want to mention my review of one of my favorite books of last month, Science Fair Season.  I’d like to publish at least 12 reviews in May, we’ll see how that goal goes.  I also celebrated 2 years of blogging!

Looking forward to May, I’m reading Anna Quindlan’s Every Last One and Kathryn Stockett’s The Help (again) for book clubs. For blog tours, I have Wrecker by Summer Wood and Almost Home by Mariah Stewart.  I’ve got a pile of other books lined up as well, we’ll see how it goes.

I hope everyone reading had a good April, and has a great May!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2011 in books, summary

 

Tags:

4 responses to “April Wrap Up

  1. Sniffly Kitty

    May 4, 2011 at 10:01 am

    I think I only managed 8 books last month, so despite your sickness, you’re still beating me heh~~

     
  2. bookmagic

    May 4, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    I think you did pretty well, especially The Finkler Question. I ran out of steam on that one about half way through. I think I only read about 4-5 books. I need to check but it wasn’t many.

     
  3. Diane@BibliophileBytheSea

    May 5, 2011 at 4:07 am

    You had a great month in books despite not feeling well in April.

     
  4. Just Mom

    May 5, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    You read more in a bad month than I read in a good month!

     

Leave a Reply

 
