RSS

(mini)Review: Married with Zombies by Jesse Petersen

03 May

Married with Zombies (Living with the Dead, #1)My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A light and funny read!

Summary via Goodreads.com:

A heartwarming tale of terror in the middle of the zombie apocalypse.

Meet Sarah and David.

Once upon a time they met and fell in love. But now they’re on the verge of divorce and going to couples’ counseling. On a routine trip to their counselor, they notice a few odd things – the lack of cars on the highway, the missing security guard, and the fact that their counselor, Dr. Kelly, is ripping out her previous client’s throat.

Meet the Zombies.

Now, Sarah and David are fighting for survival in the middle of the zombie apocalypse. But, just because there are zombies, doesn’t mean your other problems go away. If the zombies don’t eat their brains, they might just kill each other.

It was my first zombie book (and I’ve never watched a zombie movie either), and I don’t think I’ll ever be a fan of the genre. However, the fight against the zombies made a great backdrop for this couple working through the issues in their marriage.

The highlights of this book are probably the chapter headings, which feature some fairly standard relationship advice, modified slightly to be relevant to the situation at hand: “Never go to bed angry. Terrified is OK.”. “Plan romantic getaways. Or just getaways”.

The whole book has a tone of almost taking itself seriously, but not quite.  I kept laughing, even as the situation became more and more dire, and Sarah and David proved better and better at stopping the zombies.

As I think back on it, there’s several aspects of the book that seem even weaker than I thought while reading it, but I don’t care. I had fun while it lasted, and that’s what I was looking for!

This is a duplicate review copy that Pam @ Bookalicious received, and passed on to me.  I was skeptical that I’d ever get around to reading it, but as it turns out, it’s the perfect book for reading while chaperoning 4 thirteen year olds at an amusement park!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 3, 2011 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “(mini)Review: Married with Zombies by Jesse Petersen

  1. Pam van Hylckama Vlieg

    May 3, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    I read How I Stole Johnny Depp’s Alien Girlfriend recently at a theme park. Perfect setting for these kinds of books. Glad you liked it I have yet to read it!

     
  2. Akasha Hale

    May 3, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    Great book review I’m not one of zombies either but I think I could manage reading an novel about zombies if romance was involved.

    -Happy Reading.

     

Leave a Reply

 
