RSS

Review: Guilt by Association by Marcia Clark

26 Apr

Guilt by AssociationMy rating: 4 of 5 stars

Yes, the author is that Marcia Clark, from the OJ Simpson trial. She’s written a very readable mystery with a great set of characters.

Summary via Goodreads.com:

Los Angeles D.A. Rachel Knight is a tenacious, wise-cracking, and fiercely intelligent prosecutor in the city’s most elite division. When her colleague, Jake, is found dead at a grisly crime scene, Rachel is shaken to the core. She must take over his toughest case: the assault of a young woman from a prominent family.

But she can’t stop herself from digging deeper into Jake’s death, a decision that exposes a world of power and violence and will have her risking her reputation—and her life—to find the truth.

What stands out for me was the team of smart, competent women friends, each with her own strengths, putting those to use solving a mystery that the establishment doesn’t think needs to be solved. Rachel and her friends were interesting, although Rachel herself was the only character that I felt had a lot of depth at this point. I think that will change in future books– I hope these characters will be back.

I admit, all I know about the legal system I’ve learned from books and television. Marcia Clark draws a picture that feels real, and she certainly has the credentials to back it up. She could be adding aspects that make a better story, and I’d never know. I do know that her world fits together and it works.

The mystery also holds together, and held my attention. The writing was clear and readable, even funny at times.

A very successful first book, and I’m looking forward to more!

Guilt by Association marks the first book by Hachette’s new Mulholland Books Imprint!  Thank you to Miriam for sending me this book and others that I’m looking forward to reviewing.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2011 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Review: Guilt by Association by Marcia Clark

  1. Marce

    April 26, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    Wow, I seriously was like I know that name, i’m glad to hear she wrote a great mystery. I may have to try this one.

     
  2. nomadreader (Carrie)

    April 26, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    I really want to read this one! I’m a big fan of the Linda Fairstein series (another prosecutor turned crime writer), and this one sounds fresh too. Thanks!

     
  3. SuziQoregon

    April 26, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Yup – great debut. I hear the second is already with her editor and is planned for release next year. I’m looking forward to it.

     
  4. michele c'melo

    April 27, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    i just finished reading this tonight and i loved it! looking forward to more starring rachel knight.

     

Leave a Reply

 
