RSS

Mailbox Monday

10 Apr

My mailbox looks a little like this one!Welcome to Mailbox Monday!

Mailbox Monday is a place to share all the wonderful books that have come to live in your home– including paper books, e-books and audio books.

Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia, who is now blogging at A girl and her books. When Marcia was ready to move on from being the weekly host, she was kind enough to set up the Mailbox Monday Blog Tour,

Amy at Passages to the Past is this month’s host!

As for my mailbox:

Book for review:

An ages-old family secret breaches the boundaries between reality and magic in this fresh retelling of a classic fairy tale. When Berkeley student Will Taylor is introduced to the mysterious Feierabend sisters, he quickly falls for enigmatic Livvy, a chemistry major and accomplished chef. But Livvy’s family—vivacious actress Maddie, family historian Rose, and their mother, absent-minded Sylvia—are behaving strangely. The Feierabend women seem to believe that luck is their handmaiden, even though happiness does not necessarily follow. It is soon discovered that generations previous, the Feierabends made a contract with a powerful, otherworldly force, and it is up to Will and his best friend to unravel the riddle of this supernatural bargain in order to save Livvy from her predestined fate.

It’s finally happened.  The author blurbs were actually enough to cause me to get a book!  I received an e-mail about The Uncertain Places.  It sounded quite interesting, but I was feeling a bit overwhelmed by the books I’d recently accepted for review.  I was just about to decline, then I saw the blurbs by Ursula K. Le Guin and Patricia McKillip– first the names, then what they had to say.  I read the description again, and decided I couldn’t miss this one.

Your turn

What came in your mailbox this week? Let me know, then go to Passages to the Past to check out others!


 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2011 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

12 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Sniffly

    April 10, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    Hey! I got this one too ^.^

     
  2. Mystica

    April 11, 2011 at 1:21 am

    Enjoy your book.

     
  3. BermudaOnion

    April 11, 2011 at 4:46 am

    I hope you enjoy it, Laura!

     
  4. Mary

    April 11, 2011 at 6:41 am

    Looking forward to your thoughts on this book – hope you like it!

     
  5. kaye

    April 11, 2011 at 7:25 am

    Looks good, hope it’s as intriguing as the blurb. Have a great week and happy reading. My MM is here .

     
  6. Kay

    April 11, 2011 at 8:19 am

    I think you had me at “ages-old family secret”! LOL

    Hope you enjoy!

     
  7. Beth(bookaholicmom)

    April 11, 2011 at 8:20 am

    This does sound intriguing..I would have had to go for it too! The cover is great too! I hope you enjoy it.

     
  8. Michelle Vasquez

    April 11, 2011 at 8:44 am

    Looks good. Enjoy!

     
  9. mary Ann Langan

    April 11, 2011 at 11:25 am

    looks like a good read, enjoy it.

    stop and see mine and my giveaway.

     
  10. Alyce

    April 11, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    Ooh, that has such a creepy cover!

     
  11. Leslie

    April 11, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    I would take a second look at the blurb too if I saw it was by Ursula K. Le Guin. It does sound good.

     
  12. Kristi

    April 16, 2011 at 9:38 am

    This is a new one for me – and I agree with you – It definitely sounds worth reading!

     

Leave a Reply

 
