RSS

Review: Where She Went by Gayle Forman

31 Mar

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I admit, in spite of everything I’d heard, I really didn’t think Where She Went would live up to If I Stay. I’m very happy to say It did.

(The mere existence of this book is a spoiler for If I Stay.  I try not to go into to many details, but if you haven’t read If I Stay yet, go and read it now.  It’s that good.  This review will be here when you finish).

Where She Went sets up another unusual situation, following up on the events of If I Stay.

Mia has moved on with her life. To the outside world, it looks like Adam has as well, but he hasn’t. He’s outwardly successful (rock-star successful, literally), but he’s really having trouble with, well, everything.

Where She Went has one important thing in common with If I Stay— an incredible character portrait. I have a hard time with young men in books, and I didn’t really think I would find Adam sympathetic, let alone compelling, even though I did like him when I first met him.

His character was compelling, and his story interesting, and yet he was completely believable. He was bewildered by the path he’d been sent down. He channeled his anger into rock songs, and followed them to success with a band that didn’t end up being the tight knit family he’d naively expected.

There was enough obnoxious rock star behavior to be realistic, and enough of what what going on in his head to understand why he behaved that way. And (channeling the male member of my book club),his thoughts weren’t detailed meta analysis of his life and that of everyone around him, but rather a continuing pit of emotion and questions about why he ended up .

Any fan of If I Stay should read this book immediately. If you haven’t read If I Stay, fix that immediately.

This copy of Where She Went was provided to Pam @ Bookalicious for review.  She was kind enough to loan it to me, since I was anxious to read it.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2011 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Review: Where She Went by Gayle Forman

  1. Pam van Hylckama Vlieg

    April 1, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    I love Foreman’s style. Can’t wait to read it.

     
  2. ComaCalm

    April 13, 2011 at 11:12 am

    Me and Christina are hosting a Read Along for this book and I was wondering if you or anyone else would be interested? You can find out more about it here:

    http://comacalm.blogspot.com/p/read-along.html

    Sorry to bother you!

     
  3. pauline grossen

    May 27, 2011 at 10:47 am

    😀

     
  4. Danmark

    February 24, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    Who knew the stepping stones for Where She Went were not only Mia’s accident and Adam and Mia’s mutual love for music, even if from different spectrums, but Adam’s promise,
    “If you stay, I’ll do whatever you want. I’ll quit the band; go with you to New York. But if you need me to go away, I’ll do that too. .. And that would suck, but I’ll do it. I can lose you like that, if I don’t lose you today. I’ll let you go. If you stay.”

     

Leave a Reply

 
