RSS

Mailbox Monday

13 Mar

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.Welcome to Mailbox Monday!

Mailbox Monday is a place to share all the wonderful books that have come to live in your home– including paper books, e-books and audio books.

Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia of The Printed Page. When Marcia was ready to move on from being the weekly host, she was kind enough to set up the Mailbox Monday Blog Tour, and this month, I’m hosting!

The link to take you to the Linky page is at the bottom of this page.

As for my mailbox:

Books for review:

Mothers and Daughters by Rae Meadows

A rich and luminous novel about three generations of women in one family: the love they share, the dreams they refuse to surrender, and the secrets they hold

Samantha is lost in the joys of new motherhood—the softness of her eight-month-old daughter’s skin, the lovely weight of her child in her arms—but in trading her artistic dreams to care for her child, Sam worries she’s lost something of herself. And she is still mourning another loss: her mother, Iris, died just one year ago.

When a box of Iris’s belongings arrives on Sam’s doorstep, she discovers links to pieces of her family history but is puzzled by much of the information the box contains. She learns that her grandmother Violet left New York City as an eleven-year-old girl, traveling by herself to the Midwest in search of a better life. But what was Violet’s real reason for leaving? And how could she have made that trip alone at such a tender age?

In confronting secrets from her family’s past, Sam comes to terms with deep secrets from her own. Moving back and forth in time between the stories of Sam, Violet, and Iris, Mothers and Daughters is the spellbinding tale of three remarkable women connected across a century by the complex wonder of motherhood.

Fun & Games by Duane Swierczynski

I’m looking forward to the upcoming titles from Mulholland Books.  This one caught my eye when it was first announced.

Charlie Hardie, an ex-cop still reeling from the revenge killing of his former partner’s entire family, fears one thing above all else: that the same thing will happen to him.

Languishing in self-imposed exile, Charlie has become a glorified house sitter. His latest gig comes replete with an illegally squatting B-movie actress who rants about hit men that specialize in making deaths look like accidents. Unfortunately, it’s the real deal. Hardie finds himself squared off against a small army of the most lethal men in the world.

It’s nothing personal–the girl just happens to be the next name on their list. For Hardie, though, it’s intensely personal. He’s not about to let more innocent people die. Not on his watch.

Audible.com Sale

I also bought 12 audiobooks at the Audible.com $4.95 sale.

  1. The Alchemist’s Apprentice by Dave Duncan
  2. The Wizard of London by Mercedes Lackey
  3. Count Zero by William Gibson
  4. Doctor Who: The Taking of Chelsea 426 by David Llewellyn
  5. Bellwether by Connie Willis
  6. Seduce Me at Sunrise by Lisa Kleypas
  7. Under Her Skin by Susan Mallery
  8. True Grit by Charles Portis
  9. Grave Sight by Charlaine Harris
  10. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
  11. The Sugar House by Laura Lippman
  12. Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler

One of these is a favorite book I thought I’d enjoy having on audio as well, the rest are new to me!

Your turn

What came in your mailbox this week? Click on the linky and leave your link, then visit some of the others!

I can’t embed the Linky on this page, since I have a WordPress.com blog.  I’m thinking about trying another host, probably Dreamhost.  Any feedback is appreciated!

 
34 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2011 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

34 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Mrs. Q: Book Addict

    March 13, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    Mothers and Daughters looks really great! I can’t listen to audiobooks, I completely tune them out, and then I have no idea what was going on. Happy reading!

     
  2. Diane@BibliophileBytheSea

    March 13, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    Nice books and what a great deal at Audible; enjoy Laura

     
  3. Notorious Spinks

    March 13, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    I was looking at Mothers and Daughters as well. Make sure you let us know how it is so I’ll know if I need to order. Thanks

     
  4. Marcia

    March 13, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    Laura thanks for hosting MM this month.

     
  5. laurelrainsnow

    March 13, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    I’ve got Mothers and Daughters on my wish list…and I see a Laura Lippman that I haven’t heard about…The Sugar House.

    I’m drooling….

    Thanks for sharing.

     
  6. kaye

    March 13, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    $4.95 for audio books is a fantastic price. Enjoy all your new reads and audios. Have a great week!

     
  7. Mary

    March 13, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    I really need to check out audible.com one of these days. Maybe when I get caught up on review books, lol. Enjoy your listening and reading!

     
  8. Mystica

    March 13, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    You have a good reading week ahead of you. Enjoy the books.

     
  9. Crystal (I Totally Paused!)

    March 13, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    Sounds like a great mailbox 🙂 I had no idea there was an audible sale, I should sign up for that!

     
  10. Jennifer, Snapshot

    March 13, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    I’m reading Mothers and Daughters this week.

    I LOVE Audible’s sales. I also stock up a few times a year.

    Here’s mine: http://jennifersnapshot.blogspot.com/2011/03/mailbox-monday-march-14.html

     
  11. Julie Anne Lindsey

    March 13, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    Great mailbox! You have some fun reads! You can see my mailbox here if you want. Check it out 😉 http://blog.juliealindsey.com/

     
  12. Wendi B - Wendi's Book Corner - Rainy Day Reads in Seattle

    March 13, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    I love the cover of Mothers & Daughters. 🙂

    I had a little trouble with my first Linky – can you delete it??

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

     
  13. Leslie

    March 13, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    That’s a great price for audible. When I checked them out their prices were high so I’ve been getting my audio books from the library.

    I’m wondering how you will like Count Zero in audio. I find Gibson difficult enough to read let alone listen to. Although I do like his stuff, I have to go back and re-read at times when I get lost.

    Is True Grit the old favorite?

     
    • Laura

      March 14, 2011 at 6:51 pm

      My old favorite is Bellwether by Connie Willis. I’m listening to it as I type this.

      I’m a little nervous about Count Zero as an audiobook, but I figured I’d give it a shot :-).

       
  14. Wrighty

    March 13, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    Wow, great week! Mothers and Daughters really sounds good and I love the cover. Enjoy all your goodies!

    My Mailbox

     
  15. Anna (Diary of an Eccentric)

    March 14, 2011 at 3:46 am

    I love the covers of Mothers & Daughters. Hope the book is just as good. Happy reading!

     
  16. bermudaonion

    March 14, 2011 at 3:59 am

    Both of your books look good – I love the cover of Mothers and Daughters. You’ll have plenty to listen to!

     
  17. Jonita

    March 14, 2011 at 4:31 am

    “Mothers & Daughters” looks like a really great read. Enjoy them all!

     
  18. Kim V

    March 14, 2011 at 4:32 am

    You did great at the audible sale!

     
  19. Playing Librarian

    March 14, 2011 at 4:36 am

    Mothers and Daughters sounds like something I would enjoy. Will be coming back later to read what you thought about it.

    Here’s my MM:

    http://www.playinglibrarian.com/2011/03/mailbox-monday-3_14.html

     
  20. pk reeves

    March 14, 2011 at 5:21 am

    Wow now that’s what I call a hot sale for the audible books!

    that list is HUGE 🙂

     
  21. Karissa

    March 14, 2011 at 7:21 am

    I also picked up some audio books at the audible book sale this week. I love it when they have $4.95 sales that is such a wonderful deal on audio books!

    Hope you enjoy them!

     
  22. Carol

    March 14, 2011 at 7:32 am

    That’s quite a list. Enjoy!

     
  23. Audra (Unabridged Chick)

    March 14, 2011 at 8:04 am

    Your blog is new to me but so glad you’re hosting MM — thanks! So envious of your second book — I love Mulholland Books!

     
  24. Rose City Reader

    March 14, 2011 at 9:11 am

    That is quite a contrast between your two book books!

    Thanks for hosting!

     
  25. mary Ann Langan

    March 14, 2011 at 9:26 am

    Enjoy all your great books, loved the covers.

     
  26. Rebecca Rasmussen

    March 14, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Can’t wait to read Mothers & Daughters!

     
  27. Tina B

    March 14, 2011 at 10:55 am

    I love audio books and I’m going to have to take another look at Audible…I too thought their prices were up there, but these definitely look affordable.

     
  28. p

    March 14, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    Awesome books…I wish I could listen to books but I just can’t…even in the car…and I know I am missing out…

     
  29. Patty

    March 14, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    My name did not catch…I was clicking too fast…p is Patty!!!

     
  30. Beth(bookaholicmom)

    March 14, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    That’s a great deal on the audiobooks. Enjoy all your new books. Thanks for hosting MM!

     
  31. Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

    March 15, 2011 at 8:53 am

    Woot! What a great audiobook sale! I’ve had my eye on Mothers and Daughters; I will definitely be looking forward to your review!

     

Leave a Reply

 
