RSS

Mailbox Monday

06 Mar

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.Welcome to Mailbox Monday!

Mailbox Monday is a place to share all the wonderful books that have come to live in your home– including paper books, e-books and audio books.

Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia of The Printed Page. When Marcia was ready to move on from being the weekly host, she was kind enough to set up the Mailbox Monday Blog Tour, and this month, I’m hosting!

At the bottom of this page is the link to take you to the Linky page.

As for my mailbox:

I had some great new books arrive at my house this week:

Books for review:

Wrecker by Summer Woods

Set amid the giant trees of northern California’s magical Lost Coast, Wrecker is the story of a nearly broken boy who unexpectedly finds a family.
After foster-parenting four young siblings a decade ago, Summer Wood tried to imagine a place where kids who are left alone or taken from their families would find the love and the family they deserve. For her, fiction was the tool to realize that world, and Wrecker, the central character in her second novel, is the abandoned child for whom life turns around in most unexpected ways. It’s June of 1965 when Wrecker enters the world. The war is raging in Vietnam, San Francisco is tripping toward flower power, and Lisa Fay, Wrecker’s birth mother, is knocked nearly sideways by life as a single parent in a city she can barely manage to navigate on her own. Three years later, she’s in prison, and Wrecker is left to bounce around in the system before he’s shipped off to live with distant relatives in the wilds of Humboldt County, California. When he arrives he’s scared and angry, exploding at the least thing, and quick to flee. Wrecker is the story of this boy and the motley group of isolated eccentrics who come together to raise him and become a family along the way.

I’m reading Wrecker in early May for a TLC Book Tour.

A Formula for Murder by Diana Orgain

Sleuth and first-time mom Kate Connolly and her baby are the victims of a hit-and-run, but escape unharmed. A witness identifies the car’s French diplomatic license plates, yet when Kate and her hubby try to get some answers, they get le cold shoulder. But there’s something going on at the French consulate that’s dirtier-and far deadlier-than any diaper.

This is the third Maternal Instincts Mystery. The first book was a fun read.  The second was even better.  This should be even more fun!

Abandon by Meg Cabot

She knows what it’s like to die. Now Death wants her back.

Seventeen-year-old Pierce knows what happens to us when we die.

That’s how she met John Hayden, the mysterious stranger who’s made returning to normal life—or at least life as Pierce knew it before the accident—next to impossible.

Though she thought she escaped him—starting a new school in a whole new place—it turns out she was wrong. He finds her.

What does John want from her? Pierce thinks she knows… just like she knows he’s no guardian angel, and his dark world isn’t exactly heaven. But she can’t stay away from him, either, especially since he’s always there when she least expects it, but exactly when she needs him most.

But if she lets herself fall any further, she might find herself back in the place she fears the most.

And when Pierce discovers the shocking truth, that’s exactly where John sweeps her:

The Underworld.

This Persephone retelling was an unexpected arrival in my mailbox. I’m looking forward to reading it, but I knew who would be really excited by it. I was right– my daughter was captivated by the cover, and immediately started reading it. I’ll be sure to include her thoughts in my review in late April.

From Audible.com:

My Fair Godmother by Janette Rallison

After her boyfriend dumps her for her older sister, sophomore Savannah Delano wishes she could find a true prince to take her to the prom. Enter Chrissy (Chrysanthemum) Everstar: Savannah’s gum-chewing, cell phone carrying, high heel-wearing Fair Godmother. Showing why she’s only Fair, because she’s not a very good fairy student, Chrissy mistakenly sends Savannah back in time to the Middle Ages, first as Cinderella, then as Snow White. Finally she sends Tristan, a boy in Savannah’s class, back instead to turn him into her prom-worthy prince. When Savannah returns to the Middle Ages to save Tristan, they must team up to defeat a troll, a dragon, and the mysterious and undeniably sexy Black Knight. Laughs abound in this clever fairy tale twist from a master of romantic comedy.

I was talking on twitter about not having listened to any really good audiobooks recently, and @SnifflyKitty0 (from Sniffly Kitty’s Mostly Books) recommended this one. I bought it, and enjoyed it tremendously. Never say Twitter doesn’t sell books :-).
 

 

Your turn

What came in your mailbox this week?  Click on the linky and leave your link, then visit some of the others!

As far as I can tell, I can’t embed it on this page, since I have a WordPress.com blog.  That may be the most compelling reason I’ve found to move to a different host, but I decided that doing it in the middle of last week wouldn’t be a wise move.  If you have any advice on a better way of doing a Linky, or if you have a WordPress host you really like, let me know!

 
41 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2011 in blogging, books, meme

 

Tags: ,

41 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Mary

    March 6, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    The audiobook sounds adorable! I think the way you have Mr. Linky set up should work ok.

     
  2. alitareads

    March 6, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    Abandon sounds really good. Enjoy your new books!

     
  3. Ryan

    March 6, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Sounds like you have some good reading ahead of you. I got my link added. Have a great week!

     
  4. diane

    March 6, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    Nice books Laura. I’ve been eying WRECKER. enjoy

    thanks 4 hosting

     
  5. Mrs. Q: Book Addict

    March 6, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    Great mailbox! Thanks for hosting.

     
  6. Bluestocking

    March 6, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    All of those sound good!

     
  7. laurelrainsnow

    March 6, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    Wrecker sounds like a book I’d really enjoy…hope you love all of your books.

    Thanks for sharing…and hosting.

     
  8. Marce

    March 6, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    Motherhood is Murder was so good, I definitely will read this one too, look forward to your review.

     
  9. Shelly Burns

    March 6, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    I loved Wrecker; hope you enjoy it!

     
  10. Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

    March 6, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    What a great mix! YA, cozy, chick lit, and drama. Wrecker is definitely on my own to-buy list! Enjoy the reads!

     
  11. Julie Anne Lindsey

    March 6, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    I’m DYING to read Abandon! Oh! I hope you’ll LOVE it! great mailbox this week! You can peek at my mailbox over here 😉 http://blog.juliealindsey.com/

     
  12. Amber Stults

    March 6, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    I think this was release week for A Formula for Murder – I’ve seen it mentioned about 5 different places. I hope you enjoy your new reads.

     
  13. Crystal (I Totally Paused!)

    March 6, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    I’ve been interested in reading some Meg Cabot for awhile, I may have to make room for her soon! Great mailbox 🙂

     
  14. Laura Fabiani

    March 6, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    Great mailbox. I’ve read good reviews about My Fairy Godmother. Enjoy your books!

     
  15. Sniffly Kitty

    March 6, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    Yay! I made a good recommendation heh~~

     
  16. Pam

    March 6, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    Great week! I am looking forward to Abandon, there are two more coming as well and they are on Netgalley The Goddess Test (which was amazing) and Starcrossed. All Greek Myth. As far as Mr. Linky I stopped using him a while back and am using InLinkz. http://www.inlinkz.com/

     
  17. Pam

    March 6, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Oh and as for hosts I have used DreamHost since 2006

     
  18. Tina B

    March 6, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    Thanks for hosting the Mailbox this month. I don’t find the link that difficult- I almost like it this way. And thanks for the hint about Audible…I haven’t found much to like there, but I’ll keep looking. Your haul looks great this week — enjoy.

     
  19. Yvonne

    March 6, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    Hi Laura,

    Thanks so much for hosting Mailbox Monday this month.

    The Diana Orgain mysteries sound like some good, light-hearted reading and I just love the cover art on all three of them. There is so much more innovation in cover art design these days.

    I haven’t read any Meg Cabot for years and I honestly didn’t realise just how prolific an author she has become, I couldn’t believe how many titles she has credited to her name. I definitely need to catch up with some of her later work. Thanks for reminding me about her.

     
  20. Jess - A Book Hoarder

    March 6, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    Great mailbox! I have really been wanting to read Wrecker and I still haven’t read anything by Meg Cabot but Abandon sounds like a good place to start. Happy reading!

     
  21. mari

    March 6, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    I need to see about putting Mr. Linky in my posts. A test run before hosting in May. I have never used it before.

    Thanks for hosting this month. Be back again next week, I hope. We shall see if any more books come in.

    Happy Monday.

     
  22. Leslie

    March 6, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    Nice variety this week. All new ones to me.

    The Mr. Linky work around is fine. WordPress.com forbids all scripts so yeah, that’s the problem.

     
  23. pk reeves

    March 7, 2011 at 2:59 am

    Nie mailbox! Eye-ing your Meg Cabot’s Abandon…. very very nice.

     
  24. Anna (Diary of an Eccentric)

    March 7, 2011 at 3:53 am

    I’m curious about Formula for Murder. I read the first book in that series and thought it was okay. Looking forward to your thoughts. Thanks for hosting!

     
  25. bermudaonion

    March 7, 2011 at 4:10 am

    I got Abandon too. Wrecker really intrigues me. It looks like a good one.

     
  26. dcmetroreader@gmail.com

    March 7, 2011 at 4:43 am

    The new Meg Cabot book sounds interesting — loved The Wife and The Position!

    Thanks for hosting Mailbox Monday!

     
  27. Jennifer, Snapshot

    March 7, 2011 at 5:35 am

    I definitely think Twitter sells books!

    Thanks for hosting MM this month.

     
  28. Hey, I want to read that

    March 7, 2011 at 7:17 am

    Great books, I’m going to have to look for Formula for Murder. I love finding new cozy series.

     
  29. lemon123

    March 7, 2011 at 7:39 am

    Good, good books. Didn’t know Meg Cabot had another book out.

     
  30. Rebecca Rasmussen

    March 7, 2011 at 8:07 am

    Ooh just the place in Wrecker along has go me interested! Have a great reading week 🙂

     
  31. Rose City Reader

    March 7, 2011 at 8:18 am

    Thanks for hosting this month! And happy reading!

     
  32. Carol

    March 7, 2011 at 8:24 am

    Abandon sounds good. Enjoy your books!

     
  33. Wendy

    March 7, 2011 at 8:50 am

    Laura, the Mr. Linky works find this way 🙂 I also got Wrecker in my mailbox and am looking forward to the tour!!

     
  34. Wrighty

    March 7, 2011 at 10:18 am

    Great selection this week! I look forward to reading them all. Enjoy and thanks for hosting in March! 🙂

    My Mailbox Monday

     
  35. Cheryl

    March 7, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    You got some really great books! Here is my post: http://www.blackdiamondsbookreviews.com/2011/03/mailbox-monday.html

     
  36. Andrea

    March 7, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    Great mailbox! I’m soo jealous you got Abandon..its on my WL!

     
  37. Cheryl

    March 21, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    Abandon looks like a great book. You had a good week!

     

Leave a Reply

 
