RSS

Mailbox Monday

28 Feb

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.Mailbox Monday is a place to celebrate the new books that take up residence in our homes. It is currently touring the Internet (at a different blog each month), and Library of Clean Reads is the February host.

Next month, Mailbox Monday will be here at I’m Booking It!  I’m excited and a little nervous– time to do some housecleaning this week.  And learn how to make a linky– I know there was a tutorial during Bloggiesta that I can find if I have any problems…

I’m still at that perfect for me pace of one book arriving this week.  I think I’m making small progress on my giant backlog!

Horns by Joe Hill

Merrin Williams is dead, slaughtered under inexplicable circumstances, leaving her beloved boyfriend Ignatius Perrish as the only suspect. On the first anniversary of Merrin’s murder, Ig spends the night drunk and doing awful things. When he wakes the next morning he has a thunderous hangover . . . and horns growing from his temples. Ig possesses a terrible new power to go with his terrible new look—a macabre gift he intends to use to find the monster who killed his lover. Being good and praying for the best got him nowhere. Now it’s time for revenge . . .
It’s time the devil had his due. . . .

I never read Heart-Shaped Box, so I’m not quite sure what I’m getting myself into here.  To be honest, this description scares me a little, and I’m not sure why I asked to be part of this TLC Book Tour!  I just need to tap into whatever my mindset was at the time, or see it as a challenge– I like to stretch myself at times.  Still, I’d better line up some cozies, some chick lit and some romances to help me decompress when I finish reading :-).

What was in your mailbox this week? Share your thoughts on your books and mine, and then head to Library of Clean Reads, this month’s host for Mailbox Monday.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2011 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. laurelrainsnow

    February 28, 2011 at 4:10 am

    Oh, I had forgotten about Heart-Shaped Box being his first…yes, that description does sound like a cautionary tale about drinking too much…LOL

    Thanks for sharing, and we’ll be seeing a lot of you during your host month.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

     
  2. bermudaonion

    February 28, 2011 at 5:30 am

    I’ve heard Horns is really good, so I bet you’ll enjoy it! Have a great week of reading!

     
  3. Rebecca Rasmussen

    February 28, 2011 at 10:42 am

    This does sound a little scary, but I can’t wait to see what you think anyway 🙂

     
  4. Marce

    February 28, 2011 at 11:07 am

    It is so good, not scary but I hear Heartshaped box is Scary, can’t wait to read that one. Look forward to your review.

     
  5. Mystica

    February 28, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    Hope you enjoy the read.

     
  6. Mary

    March 1, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    I hope you enjoy it! I’m too much of a wimp to read scary books 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
