RSS

Mailbox Monday

21 Feb

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.Mailbox Monday is a place to celebrate the new books that take up residence in our houses. It is currently touring the Internet (at a different blog each week), and Library of Clean Reads is the February host.

I had one book arrive in my mailbox again this week, which is a perfect pace for me!  It allows me to keep up with incoming books while reading some of the books I really want to get to on my shelves.

The Taint of Midas by Anne Zouroudi

Gabrilis Kaloyeros is a bee-keeper on the beautiful Greek island of Arcadia. The ruined Temple of Apollo has been in his care for decades, and he has worked to protect it. But when crooked developers take over the island and the value of the land soars, he is persuaded through unscrupulous means to sign away his interest. Hours later he meets a violent, lonely death.

When detective Hermes Diaktoros finds his friend’s battered body by a dusty roadside, the police quickly name him the prime suspect. But with rapacious developers threatening Arcadia’s most ancient sites, many stand to gain from Gabrilis’s death. Hermes resolves to avenge his old friend and find the true culprit, but his methods are, as ever, unorthodox.

I’d like to dive right into this book– I’m feeling the need for something a little out of the ordinary, and I think this would fit the bill!

What was in your mailbox this week? Share your thoughts on your books and mine, and then head to Library of Clean Reads, this month’s host for Mailbox Monday.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2011 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

11 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. RAnn

    February 21, 2011 at 11:43 am

    I have to say, that’s one I haven’t heard of before, but it looks interesting.

     
  2. Wakela

    February 21, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. This sounds like a really intriguing read. I will have to check it out.

    Wakela’s World

     
  3. Mary

    February 21, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    New to me title. I hope you enjoy it!

     
  4. gautami tripathy

    February 21, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    You got a great book! Look forward to read your review!

    Here is my Monday: Mailbox/What Are You Reading?/Musings post!

     
  5. Amused

    February 21, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    Oh that book looks really good! Happy reading!

     
  6. Alyce

    February 21, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    This one’s completely new to me but sounds good!

     
  7. bermudaonion

    February 22, 2011 at 4:19 am

    That should be a good one, after all, it’s a Reagan Arthur book.

     
  8. Rebecca Rasmussen

    February 22, 2011 at 6:34 am

    This one looks so very interesting! 😉

     
  9. Beth(bookaholicmom)

    February 22, 2011 at 8:20 am

    I have not heard of this title before. I hope it is a good one!

     
  10. Notorious Spinks

    February 23, 2011 at 9:04 am

    This looks interesting. I’ll have to check out the review.

     
  11. Carol

    February 23, 2011 at 11:24 am

    Sounds like a great one. I love the setting. Enjoy it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
