RSS

Make some YA book suggestions!

20 Feb

Can you suggest some books?

Nerds Heart YA

My first request isn’t for me. It’s for nominations for Nerds Heart YA.

Nerds Heart YA is an annual tournament of books.   Right now, nominations are open for Young Adult books published in 2010, depicting or written by someone in a group identified by the organizers as being underrepresented in YA fiction.

If you know of a good book that meets that description, and has not been heavily reviewed in the blogosphere, please nominate it!

Geography tie-in

This set of suggestions is for me, or rather for my daughter’s class.  When they return from their next 4 day field trip (the one I was reading Measure for Measure to discuss with them in preparation for), they will dive into their geography unit.  I’d like to come up with a set of Lit books for them to read and discuss in small groups.

  • The class in made up of 7th & 8th graders at very wide reading levels, so suggestions from slightly lower to much higher difficulty are welcome, as long as they are interesting to 12-14 year olds.
  • The class is about 2/3 boys, so I particularly need books that will appeal to them.
  • Classics, historical or contemporary fiction are good.  They’ve already done a round of science fiction and of (Greek Mythology linked) fantasy this year, so I’d avoid those genres.
  • I don’t really know what I mean by a geography tie in.
    • Maybe something they could track on a map?
    • Something with travel and adventure?
    • A book featuring maps?
    • A book where the terrain and physical features of an area plays a major role?
  • Well written and good fodder for discussion would be very helpful too 🙂

Leave suggestions in the comments here, e-mail me, Tweet me, send me a Facebook message.  I wouldn’t suggest carrier pigeons (I have a cat) or smoke signals (too cloudy), but however is easiest for you to get a message to me.

Thank you!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2011 in books, Me

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Make some YA book suggestions!

  1. Kelsey @ The Lost Book Reports

    February 20, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    I don’t know if this ties into Geography really, but Carolyn Meyer has a fabulous Young Royals Series, that could be helpful, If I can think of anymore, I will you = )

     
    • Laura

      February 20, 2011 at 10:08 pm

      Thank you! I’ll check them out, and would appreciate any further thoughts you have.

       
  2. Katy F.

    February 21, 2011 at 9:50 am

    The first youth-friendly travel-classic that came to my mind was Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne.

     
    • Laura

      February 21, 2011 at 10:19 am

      Yes, great suggestion! My daughter has been thinking about reading that one, and it still didn’t come to mind.

       
  3. Heidi

    February 21, 2011 at 10:51 am

    Anything by Will Hobbs. Also, Shift by Jennifer Bradbury. It’s about two boys that take a bicycle trip across the US after graduation. Perhaps more on the 8th grade end? I just had a group of 7th graders read it though. What about survival books like My Side of the Mountain or Hatchet? That’s all I’ve got off the top of my head 🙂

     
    • Laura

      February 21, 2011 at 11:05 am

      That’s great! I was thinking about checking into some of the survival books, but hadn’t come up with specific titles yet– I know one of the other classes had those two as options for a different project! I haven’t heard of the first two authors, so I really appreciate those suggestions, I’ll check those out.

       
  4. Vasilly

    February 22, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    Bayou Vol. 1 by Jeremy Love is a book I would recommend. It’s a great read but hasn’t really been reviewed in the blogisphere.

     

Leave a Reply

 
