RSS

Mailbox Monday

06 Feb

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.Mailbox Monday is a place to celebrate the new books that take up residence in our houses.  It is currently touring the Internet (at a different blog each week), and Library of Clean Reads is the February host.

I had one book arrive in my mailbox this week.  It’s for a TLC Book Tour in April, so I won’t be picking it up for a little while yet.

The Uncoupling by Meg Wolitzer

When the elliptical new drama teacher at Stellar Plains High School chooses for the school play Lysistrata—the comedy by Aristophanes in which women stop having sex with men in order to end a war—a strange spell seems to be cast over the school. Or, at least, over the women. One by one throughout the high school community, perfectly healthy, normal women and teenage girls turn away from their husbands and boyfriends in the bedroom, for reasons they don’t really understand. As the women worry over their loss of passion, and the men become by turns unhappy, offended, and above all, confused, both sides are forced to look at their shared history, and at their sexual selves in a new light.

I jumped on the chance to participate in this tour, since I really liked Wolitzer’s previous book, The Ten-Year Nap (even though many people I know didn’t like it at all).    This sounds like a really interesting premise, and I’m looking forward to reading it.

What was in your mailbox this week? Share your thoughts on your books and mine, and then head to Library of Clean Reads, this month’s host for Mailbox Monday.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2011 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

12 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Ruth @ Bookish Ruth

    February 6, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    I have Lysistrata on my bookshelves and I have to admit that I didn’t know what it was about until I read the summary of The Uncoupling. Great premise for a modern retelling!

     
  2. eternalised

    February 7, 2011 at 3:46 am

    The Uncoupling sounds like an ineresting book to read. I also love the cover. Enjoy!

    Here’s my Mailbox.

     
  3. Diane@BibliophileBytheSea

    February 7, 2011 at 3:51 am

    I heard the Uncoupling was good – enjoy.

     
  4. bermudaonion

    February 7, 2011 at 6:01 am

    Okay, I’m jealous! That should be a great read!

     
  5. Rebecca Rasmussen

    February 7, 2011 at 7:53 am

    Sounds like a great read. This one has been on my radar a lot lately! 🙂

     
  6. Mary

    February 7, 2011 at 8:28 am

    Ooh, I look forward to our review!

     
  7. Wendi B - Wendi's Book Corner - Rainy Day Reads in Seattle

    February 7, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    It does sound like a good book! 🙂

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

     
  8. Leslie

    February 7, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    That’s a new book for me but it sounds really, really interesting. I’ll be watching for the tour.

     
  9. nomadreader (Carrie)

    February 8, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    I got this one too and am also holding off a bit to read it. I hope we both like it!

     
  10. Sue Jackson

    February 8, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    I’ve been meaning to read something by Meg Wolitzer for years – can’t wait to hear what you think of her latest.

    Sue

     
  11. Mystica

    February 10, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    I came to your post rather late as I went through the blogs which had linked before mine! This sounds a good read. Your reviews are wonderful. Thanks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
