RSS

January Wrap-Up

01 Feb

I had an up and down reading month, with a few really good books, several times where I couldn’t settle into any book, and a higher than usual percentage of books that are under 4 stars.

Read in January

Paper books:

  1. (4.5 stars) The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown
  2. (3.5 stars) Miles from Nowhere by Nami Mun (review posting tomorrow)
  3. (4.5 stars) Up from the Blue by Susan Henderson
  4. (4 stars) The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson
  5. (3.5 stars) The Christmas Cookie Club by Ann Pearlman

Nook:

  1. (3.5 stars) To Have and to Kill (Wedding Cake Mysteries #1) by Mary Jane Clark

Audio:

  1. (4 stars) Juliet, Naked by Nick Hornby
  2. (3.5 stars) A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick
  3. (3.5 stars) River’s End by Nora Roberts (review posting next week)
  4. (3.5 stars) Killing Floor (Jack Reacher #1) by Lee Child
  5. (4 stars) Even the Queen & Other Short Stories by Connie Willis
  6. (4 stars) Kitty Goes to Washington (Kitty Norville #2) by Carrie Vaughn (review posting soon)

So my yearly total starts out at 12 books read:  5 paper books, 1 Nook Book, and 6 audio books.    I posted 10 reviews (see the sidebar for a list), and I have several scheduled to post next month.

There were 2 standout books this month.  The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown is an early contender for one of my top books of the year, and Up from the Blue by Susan Henderson is also outstanding.  I also want to mention a book which I finished on New Years Eve last year, so it was a 2010 book, but I didn’t have time to really consider it in with those books. The Year of Fog by Michelle Richmond would have made my list of top reads last year if I’d given it fair thought, and I’m appreciating it even more as I think more about it.

Looking forward into February, I’m most of the way through Triumph of the City by Edward Glaeser for a blog tour this Thursday.  I’ll then pick up Moonface by Angela Balcita for a tour later in the month.  I’ll finish reading Measure for Measure with my daughter’s class.  I’ll be reading Solar by Ian McEwan for one book club, North of Beautiful for the other.  I’m also planning to read A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness and All That’s True by Jackie Lee Miles.

How was your January?  What are your February plans?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2011 in books, summary

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “January Wrap-Up

  1. Suey

    February 1, 2011 at 6:40 am

    Oh, I have Up From the Blue here waiting for me! It sounds like I should bump it closer to the top?

     
  2. Ruth @ Bookish Ruth

    February 1, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    I’ve heard so many great things about The Weird Sisters. I may have to break my book buying ban for this one.

    My plans for February are read, read, read and get caught up on reviews. I was happy with how much reading I did in January, (although I need to step up my pace a bit to hit 100+ books this year), but I need to get more reviews written. Life has been pretty hectic and that’s never conducive to writing for me.

     
  3. Mary (Bookfan)

    February 2, 2011 at 4:04 am

    The Weird Sisters is on my tbr list. I’m going to look for The Year of Fog – I know I’ve read other good things about it so thanks for reminding me!

     
  4. Ms. Dawn

    February 2, 2011 at 6:12 am

    I SO look forward to reading the Weird Sisters. The Year of Fog is our book club pick this month…starting it today. Now I’m more excited than I was!

     
  5. Crystal F

    February 2, 2011 at 6:13 am

    I have not heard about The Weird Sisters but since it’s already in the running for one of your best books of the year – I am intrigued and I must check it out. Looks like a pretty good month, my numbers were about the same, but I had more books with ratings 4 and up.

    Hope February is a great month for you!

     
  6. nanscorner

    February 2, 2011 at 8:11 am

    You read and listened to a lot of books in January! Hope you have a great February.

     
  7. Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness)

    February 2, 2011 at 9:06 am

    I’m glad to see you enjoyed The Weird Sisters, too. I actually finished it in 2010, but I might put it on my best of 2011 books anyway, since that’s when it was published 🙂

     
    • Laura

      February 2, 2011 at 1:06 pm

      Sounds like a good plan to me. Hmm, I read the Year of Fog for the 2011 Silicon Valley reads, maybe I can use similar logic there :-).

       
  8. Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

    February 4, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    Good reading month for you! I’ve been reading so many mixed reviews of The Weird Sisters; I’m definitely going to check out your review of both that and Up From the Blue!

     
  9. Sue Jackson

    February 8, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    Wow, you managed to read a lot in one month! Good start to the year. I have heard good things about The Weird Sisters – will have to check it out.

    Sue

     

Leave a Reply

 
