RSS

Mailbox Monday

30 Jan

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.Mailbox Monday is a place to celebrate the new books that take up residence in our houses.  It is currently touring, and Rose City Reader is the January Host.  Next month, it moves on to Library of Clean Reads.

I had one book arrive in my mailbox this week:
Fatal Error (Ali Reynolds, #6)Fatal Error by J.A. Jance (Ali Reynolds #6)

Ali Reynolds begins the summer thinking her most difficult challenge will be surviving a six-week- long course as the lone forty-something female at the Arizona Police Academy—not to mention taking over the 6:00 AM shift at her family’s restaurant while her parents enjoy a long overdue Caribbean cruise. However, when Brenda Riley, a colleague from Ali’s old news broadcasting days in California, shows up in town with an alcohol problem and an unlikely story about a missing fiancé, Ali reluctantly agrees to help.

The man posing as Brenda’s fiancé is revealed to be Richard Lowensdale, a cyber-sociopath who has left a trail of broken hearts in his virtual wake. When he is viciously murdered, the women he once victimized are considered suspects. The police soon focus their investigation on Brenda, who is already known to have broken into Richard’s home and computer before vanishing without a trace. Attempting to clear her friend’s name, Ali is quickly drawn into a web of online intrigue that may lead to a real-world fatal error.

When I received an e-mail asking if I’d be interested in reviewing this book, I jumped on it enthusiastically. The description hit a couple of keywords guaranteed to catch my attention: “Arizona” (my home state) and “on-line intrigue” (I worked in IT, and computer security was one of my specialties many years ago. I’m still interested). More than even those was the author.

I enjoyed J.A. Jance’s Joanna Brady books. I’d read the first 9 when the series had a crossover with her other well-known series, the J.P. Beaumont books.  So I went and read those.  All 15 of them.  More or less in a row.

I don’t do that anymore.  I haven’t really read J.A. Jance since then.  It wasn’t that I didn’t like the books.  I’m willing to abandon a series that isn’t working for me.  It’s just that it was too much of a good thing.

I’m past that now, and I’m enthusiastic about returning to a much-liked author.  I was enthusiastic enough not to notice this is book 6 in a series that I don’t think I’ve read (the first book sounds vaguely familiar, and I have a rotten memory, which is one of the reasons I started blogging, so I can remember what I thought).  I’m not fanatical about reading in order.  If I enjoy this as much as I’m expecting to, I’ll add the first in the series to my list of books to find.

Any new books at your house?  Tell me here (or point me to your blog), then go and check out the Linky at Rose City Reader!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2011 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

12 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Majanka

    January 31, 2011 at 12:14 am

    I had that happen to me too once – I was so excited about reading the novel, which was Green-Eyed Demon by Jaye Wells, that I didn’t notice it was already number three in the series! But I’m going to read it anyway 😉 Who cares about order in a series? =P

    Here’s my Mailbox!

     
  2. Rebecca Rasmussen

    January 31, 2011 at 5:57 am

    I hope this turns out to be amazing! 🙂

     
  3. gautami tripathy

    January 31, 2011 at 7:17 am

    Sounds like my kind of read…

    Here is my Monday: Mailbox/What Are You Reading?/Musings post!

     
  4. bookmagic

    January 31, 2011 at 8:15 am

    I’ve thought about reading a J A Jance book as I am always looking for new mystery authors. This series sounds good, i may read the first one

     
  5. sagustocox

    January 31, 2011 at 8:57 am

    I haven’t heard of this…enjoy the book.

     
  6. Leslie

    January 31, 2011 at 11:33 am

    I haven’t read any books by J.A. Jance but from the description it’s the kind of novel I’d enjoy. And I don’t need to read them in order either. I’ll jump into the middle and then go back if I like them.

     
  7. Mary

    January 31, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    Cathy from KittlingBooks featured JA Jance last week (I think). I was in Arizona a couple of weeks ago and saw her books everywhere. I plan to read one soon. Do you recommend one?

     
  8. Southern Fiber

    January 31, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    I’ll read a series out of order if the author really, really wants me to, lol! Here’s mine: http://www.southernfiberreads.com/2011/01/mailbox-monday-and-what-are-you-reading.html

     
  9. Mrs. Q: Book Addict

    January 31, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    I haven’t heard of this one either, it looks interesting. Enjoy! I love books that are set in my area.

     
  10. Wendi B - Wendi's Book Corner - Rainy Day Reads in Seattle

    January 31, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    It sounds like an action packed read. 🙂 Have fun!

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

     
  11. bermudaonion

    February 3, 2011 at 8:25 am

    Jance is an author I’ve been wanting to try, but don’t think I want to start in the middle of a series.

     

Leave a Reply

 
