RSS

Mailbox Monday

23 Jan

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.Pretty new books this week!  Woo Hoo!  I love books!

Arrived for tours with TLC Book Tours

Moonface by Angela Balcita

From the pages of the New York Times’ Modern Love column comes one woman’s moving and uproarious story of how love and laughter rescued her from life-threatening illness. Angela Balcita’s cathartic memoir of finding love while wrestling with kidney failure will strike a chord with anyone yearning for a poignant, true-to-life romance…with a real fairy tale ending.

Triumph of the City by Edward Glaeser

This is the book that has come in for me recently that attracted the attention of my 12 year old daughter.  When I finish reading it, I’ll see who wants it next, my daughter or my husband…

Glaeser travels through history and around the globe to reveal the hidden workings of cities and how they bring out the best in humankind. Even the worst cities-Kinshasa, Kolkata, Lagos- confer surprising benefits on the people who flock to them, including better health and more jobs than the rural areas that surround them. Glaeser visits Bangalore and Silicon Valley, whose strangely similar histories prove how essential education is to urban success and how new technology actually encourages people to gather together physically. He discovers why Detroit is dying while other old industrial cities-Chicago, Boston, New York-thrive. He investigates why a new house costs 350 percent more in Los Angeles than in Houston, even though building costs are only 25 percent higher in L.A. He pinpoints the single factor that most influences urban growth-January temperatures-and explains how certain chilly cities manage to defy that link. He explains how West Coast environmentalists have harmed the environment, and how struggling cities from Youngstown to New Orleans can “shrink to greatness.” And he exposes the dangerous anti-urban political bias that is harming both cities and the entire country.

Other books for review

The Mistress Of Nothing by Kate Pullinger

Lady Duff Gordon is the toast of Victorian London. But when her debilitating tuberculosis requires healthier climate, she and her lady’s maid, Sally, set sail for Egypt. It is Sally who describes, with a mixture of wonder and trepidation, the odd menage marshalled by the resourceful Omar, which travels down the Nile to a new life in Luxor. When Lady Duff Gordon undoes her stays and takes to native dress, throwing herself into weekly salons, language lessons, excursions to the tombs, Sally too adapts to a new world, affording her heady and heartfelt freedoms never known before. But freedom is a luxury that a maid can ill-afford, and when Sally grasps more than her status entitles her to, she is brutally reminded that she is mistress of nothing.

The Water Wars by Cameron Stracher

Welcome to a future where water is more precious than gold or oil-and worth killing for

Vera and her brother, Will, live in the shadow of the Great Panic, in a country that has collapsed from environmental catastrophe. Water is hoarded by governments, rivers are dammed, and clouds are sucked from the sky. But then Vera befriends Kai, who seems to have limitless access to fresh water. When Kai suddenly disappears, Vera and Will set off on a dangerous journey in search of him-pursued by pirates, a paramilitary group, and greedy corporations. Timely and eerily familiar, acclaimed author Cameron Stracher makes a stunning YA debut that’s impossible to forget.

Bought for myself

Measure for Measure by William Shakespeare

I’m not going to include a summary here, instead I’ll explain how I bought 3 copies of one Shakespeare play in one week.

I volunteer twice a week in my daughter’s 7th/8th grade classroom.  On Tuesdays, I’m one of 4 lit parents.  On Wednesday, I’m one of 3 science parents.

The class decided to take a 4 day field trip to the Ashland (Oregon) Shakespeare Festival (they’ve done this for several years now).  They will be seeing 3 plays, including Measure for Measure. They are now preparing for this trip.

The parents that are leading the discussion groups got copies of the books a week before the students.  Then we had to give them back.  I wasn’t quite done.  OK, I wasn’t really that far in– I wasn’t familiar with the play at all.  So I ordered a copy of the same version the class is using, from Folger’s Shakespeare Library.

This had not yet arrived when we left town a week ago Thursday.  We were returning Monday evening, and the discussion of the first act was to take place Tuesday morning.   I could continue to share my daughter’s copy, and I decided to get an audio version we could listen to (I guess this should have gone into last week’s MM post!).

Between my daughter’s rhythmic gymnastics meet and playing tourist in Las Vegas, neither of us picked up the printed or audio version of the play (she got her other homework done, though).  I figured we could do so on the plane.  All was well until we sat down to wait for boarding, and I realized I’d packed the printed version.

I pulled out my Nook, she pulled out our Ipad, and we bought and downloaded another version from B&N.  We shared a set of headphones on the plane (we each got one ear), and we each had an electronic version to follow along with.   We made it through Act I, even stopping to discuss it a few times.

This weekend, we took the same approach.  Since we were home, we used my computer and the speakers, and (since my printed copy arrived while we were gone) we both followed our own paper version.  We’re both prepared to discuss Act II.  Three more acts to go…

What was in your mailbox this week? Share your thoughts on your books and mine, and then head to Rose City Reader, this month’s host for Mailbox Monday.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2011 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

18 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Mystica

    January 24, 2011 at 12:27 am

    Enjoy your books. My mailbox is also up. Please do come over and visit.

     
  2. Majanka

    January 24, 2011 at 12:41 am

    Enjoy reading! The Water Wars sounds interesting, and I really like the cover. Here’s my Mailbox.

     
  3. gautami tripathy

    January 24, 2011 at 4:13 am

    All of those sound good!

    Here is my Monday: Mailbox/What Are You Reading?/Musings post!

     
  4. bermudaonion

    January 24, 2011 at 4:19 am

    You had a good week! I love your Measure for Measure story!

     
  5. Anna (Diary of an Eccentric)

    January 24, 2011 at 6:17 am

    Happy reading! It’s been a long time since I’ve read Shakespeare. Hope you’re enjoying it.

     
  6. Rebecca Rasmussen

    January 24, 2011 at 6:32 am

    My husband has the entire shakespeare collection clothbound and I still have yet to crack one, so maybe I should follow you lead 🙂

     
  7. Mary

    January 24, 2011 at 8:10 am

    I think Moonface sounds delightful!

     
  8. Coffee and a Book Chick

    January 24, 2011 at 8:52 am

    Triumph of the City looks absolutely incredible! Here’s my Mailbox: Coffee and a Book Chick — Mailbox Monday…

     
  9. Wendi B - Wendi's Book Corner - Rainy Day Reads in Seattle

    January 24, 2011 at 9:22 am

    The Water Wars sounds really interesting. I just finished reading Empty, a YA about when we run out of oil, and it would be interesting to compare them. Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

     
  10. Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

    January 24, 2011 at 10:11 am

    The Mistress of Nothing was a very good book; I totally enjoyed hearing Sally’s account of her life with Lady Duff, although it was sad, too. It was my Gem of the Week for the week I read it. I hope you enjoy it.

     
  11. Ruth @ Bookish Ruth

    January 24, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    I love that you’re so dedicated to helping your daughter that you bought three copies of the same book! That’s a great story.

    The Mistress of Nothing and Triumph of the City look like great reads.

     
  12. Holly

    January 24, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    I’ve had Mistress of Nothing on my WL for awhile. Water Wars looks like it might be good. Happy reading!

     

Leave a Reply

 
