RSS

It’s Bloggiesta Time!

20 Jan

It’s Bloggiesta time!  I’m going to be spending this weekend working on my blog.  I’ll update this post with my plans and progress, and with any luck you’ll see some improvement by Monday!

I know I won’t get to everything I list here, and one of my first decisions will be whether to pursue a few big goals, or more progress on a lot of fronts.  I’ll keep adding to the list as the weekend progresses.

  • Look into moving to self hosted wordpress (on our current webhost or elsewhere)
  • Look into new themes and layouts
  • Update my list of past reviews (page and sidebar)
  • catch up on book club posts
    1. Miles From Nowhere
    2. The Opposite of me
    3. The Solitude of Prime Numbers
    4. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
  • catch up on 2011 reviews
    1. River’s End
    2. Miles From Nowhere
    3. Kitty Goes to Washington
  • clear out all 2010 reviews (write them or abandon them)
    1. Paper Towns (maybe)
    2. Slay Ride
    3. The Opposite of Me
    4. Fair Game
    5. The Mischief of the Mistletoe
    6. Nation
    7. Dreams Underfoot
    8. Enthusiasm
    9. Kitty and the Midnight Hour
    10. The Solitude of Prime Numbers
    11. The Windup Girl
    12. Cutting for Stone
    13. So cold the River
    14. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
    15. The Heart is Not a Size
  • update reviews on Amazon, Library Thing, BN
  • Find links to old address, request updates
  • Check out current and past mini challenges
  • Check out possible memes, particularly Thurs/Fri/Sat
  • Update Facebook page, set to auto update.
  • Update Audiobook Jukebox

Do you have any suggestions for other improvements for this blog?

Good luck to all the other Bloggiesta participants!

Update:  I didn’t accomplish as much as I’d hoped (real life intruded) but I’ve got a great list to work from when I do have time!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2011 in blogging

 

Tags:

12 responses to “It’s Bloggiesta Time!

  1. Mari (Bookworm with a View)

    January 21, 2011 at 4:53 am

    I like the simplicity of your layout, it’s very easy to read.

    I have been thinking about moving off blogger, there is a layout that I really want and I need to self host to make it happen… I’m just technical enough yet to feel comfortable with the change.

    I should add update reviews to online sites (goodreads, BN, etc..) I never post them, mainly because I write the review a few days before I post.

    Good luck this weekend!

     
  2. Rebecca Rasmussen

    January 21, 2011 at 7:16 am

    Yay! These are such good goals — you are motivating me to work on my blog 🙂

     
  3. Kristen H.

    January 21, 2011 at 8:09 am

    Great goals hon! Hope you have time to accomplish them all and then some!

     
  4. nomadreader (Carrie)

    January 21, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    Good luck! I’ve been trying to focus on one thing each week rather than through Bloggiesta this time, and it’s working for me so far. I do need to catch up on LibraryThing and Amazon reviews though!

     
  5. Dawn - She Is Too Fond of Books

    January 21, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Good luck with your #bloggiesta to-do list, Laura.

    It’s been fun to see the excitement in the posts today — lots of small successes add up!

     
  6. Natasha @ Maw Books

    January 21, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Good luck Laura with your tasks! Let me know if you need anything!

     
  7. bermudaonion

    January 21, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    I hope you accomplish a lot!

     
  8. literarywife

    January 22, 2011 at 9:23 am

    I am all about working on reviews and posting them around the interwebs. I hope you make great progress on that this weekend!

     
  9. Ruth @ Bookish Ruth

    January 22, 2011 at 10:48 am

    It looks like you’re making great progress on your list! I think I’m going to spend today writing reviews. I have quite a backlog. Good luck, Laura!

     
  10. alitareads

    January 22, 2011 at 11:43 am

    Awesome goals! Good luck and have a fun bloggiesta!

     
  11. Amused

    January 22, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    Looks like you are already making some great progress! Happy bloggiesta!

     
  12. dsuzuki

    January 22, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    Good luck on everything! Looks like you are making some great progress.

     

Leave a Reply

 
