RSS

Mailbox Monday

16 Jan

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.OK, I admit it.

I’ve been trying to cut down on how many new physical books are coming into my house.

At the same time, I’ve been saying that I’d give books a good, loving home; that I’d shelve them, and I’d read them, and I’d review them.

Because I love books.

I’ve turned away even more.  I’ve turned away books that I really do think I’d enjoy.  There just isn’t enough time to enjoy all of them.

Anyway, there are three books that made their way into my mailbox this week.

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

From Goodreads:

Deep in the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell.

All That’s True by Jackie Lee Miles

From Goodreads:

My life was close to perfect-until my brother Alex got killed and my mother started drinking and my father starting having sex with Donna, my best friend’s stepmother, who’s not even thirty years old.”

Thirteen-year-old Andi St. James’ privileged life in Atlanta is interrupted one fall, to say the least. With an equal mix of joy and sorrow, All That’s True follows Andi’s poignant-and sometimes laugh-out-loud-journey to young adulthood, where she struggles with the elusive nature of truth and the devastating consequences of deception.

The Shadow of What We Were by Luis Sepúlveda

This one came my way unsolicited, but is still very welcome– I’d really like to read more books from outside the USA (and the UK).  I really hope to fit this one in sometime.
Description from the Europa Editions website:

In a warehouse in Santiago, three aging friends meet and await the arrival of a man from their past. Once militant supporters of Salvador Allende, they have grown disillusioned in the three and a half decades since his assassination. Their city has changed under Pinochet, and so have they: heart troubles, thinning hair, a few pounds too many around the waist; there is little left to connect them with their glory days. But now, the three friends have been called together at the behest of the anarchist, Pedro Nolasco, a.k.a. The Shadow, to carry out one final revolutionary gesture. But Lucho, Lolo and Cacho wait in vain; the sudden and gruesome death of The Shadow leaves them without a leader. Now they must turn to Coco Aravena, the most reckless of their former comrades. After years of playing second fiddle, this is the bumbling Coco’s chance to show them what he is capable of.

What was in your mailbox this week? Share your thoughts on your books and mine, and then head to Rose City Reader, this month’s host for Mailbox Monday.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2011 in books, meme

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Pam

    January 16, 2011 at 8:01 pm

    Ooooh I want to borrow the Witches one! Looks fantastic.

     
  2. Mrs. This One

    January 16, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    No, don’t stop getting books! I’m trying to get as many books as possible before the kindle versions take over.

    -MTO

     
  3. Rebecca Rasmussen

    January 17, 2011 at 6:55 am

    Good load this week! xoxo

     
  4. Leslie

    January 17, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    All three sound good.

    I worry too about ebooks taking over.

     

Leave a Reply

 
