RSS

Mailbox Monday

09 Jan

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.I’m really making an effort to cut back on the number of physical books coming into my house.

This is simply a matter of time (I read 93 paper books last year.  I didn’t count how many came in, but it was more than that. I don’t really plan to increase the number of books read this year), and physical space constraints (they take up space until they are read.  And they often continue to take up space after they are read.

So, I didn’t bring any new physical books into the house this week.

Of course, that didn’t stop me from taking advantage of the sale at Audible.com (again)!

From the sale, I bought:

Solar by Ian McEwan

This is the February read for one of my book clubs, so this was a good opportunity to get ready for that.

I’ve had mixed luck with McEwan in the past, but this one sounds interesting– I even helped vote it in as one of our selections.  The audible reviews are almost all 1 star or 5 stars, so I hope it works for me.

Juliet, Naked by Nick Hornby

I’ve enjoyed most of the other books I’ve read by him, and I’ve had my eye on this one since it was released.  I figured I’d take advantage of the sale and grab it now!

This sounds like a good book to have on hand to just be able to pick up when I don’t have anything else calling to me.

A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick

I can finally return the borrowed copy that has been sitting on my TBR shelf for a year or so.

I’ve heard really good things about this from multiple sources, and I’m much more likely to actually get to it as an audiobook! I’m looking forward to finally reading it.

A Rule Against Murder by Louise Penny
The Brutal Telling
by Louise Penny

(The Three Pines/Armand Garmache series)

I’ve enjoyed reading the first three books of the series, and intend to catch up this year.  The 5th book (The Brutal Telling) was part of the sale, so I went ahead and used one of my credits to get the 4th book (A Rule Against Murder).

Have you read any of these?  Did you get any new books this week?

Mailbox Monday is a place to share the  joy of the new books that take up residence with you.  The host this month is Rose City Reader. Stop by and check out what’s arrived in the mailbox of other bookish folks.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2011 in books, meme

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Mystica

    January 10, 2011 at 12:05 am

    You have some really good stuff here. I did not care for The Reliable Wife but that maybe only me!

     
  2. nanscorner

    January 10, 2011 at 2:58 am

    I have Juliet Naked and Solar on my TBR lists. I can’t wait to see what you think of them.

     
  3. Mary

    January 10, 2011 at 4:50 am

    I read the Hornby book last year and will be interested in your thoughts.

     
  4. gautami tripathy

    January 10, 2011 at 5:54 am

    I loved The Brutal Telling.

    Here is my post!

     
  5. Rebecca Rasmussen

    January 10, 2011 at 6:25 am

    Oh good — I thought I was the only one in the world who had mixed feelings about McEwan. Can’t wait to hear what you thought of this 🙂

     
  6. avisannschild

    January 10, 2011 at 7:30 am

    I’ve had mixed luck with Ian McEwan too: I loved Atonement, but disliked Enduring Love. Hope you enjoy Solar (and your other audio books)!

     
  7. Anna (Diary of an Eccentric)

    January 10, 2011 at 10:34 am

    I have A Reliable Wife but still haven’t read it. Enjoy your new books!

     
  8. Wendi B ~ Wendi's Book Corner ~ Rainy Day Reads in Seattle

    January 10, 2011 at 11:41 am

    I’ve got The Reliable Wife on my tbr pile – it sounds really interesting. 🙂
    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

     

Leave a Reply

 
