RSS

Review: Goodnight Tweetheart by Teresa Medeiros

16 Dec

Goodnight TweetheartMy rating: 3.5 stars

I found Goodnight, Tweetheart a fast, fun, very light read. It worked on that level, but it left me wishing it was just a little more.

Abigail Donovan has a lot of stuff she should be doing. Namely writing her next novel. A bestselling author who is still recovering from a near Pulitzer Prize win and the heady success that follows Oprah’s stamp of approval, she is stuck at Chapter Five and losing confidence daily. But when her publicist signs her up for a Twitter account, she’s intrigued. What’s all the fuss?

Taken under the wing of one of her Twitter followers, “MarkBaynard”—a quick witted, quick-typing professor on sabbatical—Abby finds it easy to put words out into the world 140 characters at a time. And once she gets a handle on tweets, retweets, direct messages, hashtags, and trends, she starts to feel unblocked in writing and in life. After all, why should she be spending hours in her apartment staring at her TweetDeck and fretting about her stalled career when Mark is out there traveling the world and living?

Or is he?

Told almost entirely in tweets and DMs, Goodnight Tweetheart is a truly modern take on a classic tale of love and loss—a Griffin and Sabine for the Twitter generation.

The biggest problem with the book is that I kept thinking I’d seen this movie before. The twist of the pen pals meeting over Twitter vs. e-mail or old-fashioned snail mail was fun, but I never got a feeling for the Twitter world– the thing about Twitter is that it is a public conversation, and we never see that aspect of it.

Abby and Mark immediately take their conversation to direct messages, and out of the Twitter world. I would have loved to see Mark comment on a tweet that Abby sent out to her fan followers (once she had settled in a bit), or some other such interaction with the rest of the world.

I don’t mean to imply that I didn’t enjoy Mark and Abby’s interactions, I did. They were fun and clever and showed a nice process of them getting to know each other.

There was never any doubt that Mark had a secret, the only question which secret it was. I was betting against “married with wife and kids in the other room”, but there were a number of other possibilities that would have fit the situation. Because Mark is hiding for most of the book, and all we do see of him is the 140 character messages, he never turns into a real person to me.

Abby was real. I enjoyed her character, and the portrait I had of her (which was still fairly shallow, but fine for a book that took under 2 hours to read). I particularly enjoyed seeing her as a writer, overwhelmed by her initial success and not sure where to go next. I wished I’d seen more of her second novel, as a way to get to know her more deeply.

Again, I enjoyed what was here. I read it very quickly, smiling most of the time. It just didn’t quite leave me satisfied in the end.

I received Goodnight, Tweetheart from the publisher as part of a blog tour.  Thank you for allowing me to participate.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 16, 2010 in books, reviews, tour

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Review: Goodnight Tweetheart by Teresa Medeiros

  1. alisonwonderland

    December 17, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    I’m adding this to my to-read list. Thanks for the review!

     

Leave a Reply

 
