RSS

What I’m doing when I’m not doing bookish stuff

05 Dec

In general, I talk about the bookish side of my life here.  As with everyone else, I do have other things that keep me from reading and blogging all of the time.  Some of them are important– the time I spend with my daughter and at her school.  Some of them are not– anyone who is friends with me on Facebook knows I like Farmville and other such games.

Starting in early November, my time is sucked into one of my husband’s hobbies:

I’ve set up a blog with some information on the lights.  I help out, I try to keep things from getting too out of control, and I try to program the musical sequences.  I did the Muppet one last year, with some help from my daughter.

I’m working on another one this year, and I find this extremely time consuming.  Since I’m trying to work with the music I’m choreographing to, I can’t even listen to an audio book while I’m doing it.

Together with the general craziness of the season, that’s where a lot of my book time has been going!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2010 in Me

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “What I’m doing when I’m not doing bookish stuff

  1. bermudaonion

    December 5, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    Wow, that’s a labor of love! How long does it take to set that whole thing up? Do you have crowds of people come by your house to see it?

     
  2. Rebecca Rasmussen

    December 6, 2010 at 6:20 am

    I love all of these lights. We live in an apartment, so we can’t get too nuts here, but we still drive by all the house like yours and have such wonderful memories because it them. xoxox

     
  3. Leslie

    December 6, 2010 at 11:24 am

    That’s a lot of work! I enjoy other people’s light displays because I don’t have the time or patience to do it myself. Very pretty.

     
  4. CLM

    December 14, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    I can’t even imagine how time consuming that must be – but fun! I just bought my first house and am determined just to get my tree up (the challenge is finding a place near a window with an outlet – my dining room turns out not to have even one outlet!).

     

Leave a Reply

 
