RSS

Mailbox Monday

22 Nov

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.I’ve really been making an effort to cut down on the incoming books until the TBR piles no longer pose a risk to my family’s physical safety.

On the other hand, I love books, and am easily excited by them.  I don’t want to try for a total ban, because that would make me sad. I just need to show some restraint.

So, I didn’t get any books in the mail this week, but I did succumb to the lure of two ARCs from Chronicle Books when I visited there this week!  Thanks to Lara at Chronicle for hosting us, and to Pam from Bookalicious for setting up this tour of our local publisher.

The two books that I couldn’t say no to were both YA titles.

Spinning Out By David Stahler Jr.

High school senior Frenchy has little ambition beyond hanging out at the smoking rock until his best friend, the ever-witty and conniving Stewart, gets him to try out for Man of la Mancha. To everyone’s surprise, the guys are a hit. But when Stewart’s antics begin to grow more obsessive—he wears his costume 24/7, freaks out about little details, and displays an incessant hatred of the high-tech windmills outside of town—Frenchy worries that there’s something deeper going on. Is Stewart spiraling into madness, just like Don Quixote? And can Frenchy battle through his own demons in time to save his friend from self-destruction before it’s too late?

How I Stole Johnny Depp’s Alien Girlfriend By Gary Ghislain

David Gershwin’s summer is about to take a turn for the weird. When his dad’s new patient Zelda tells him she’s from outer space and on a quest to take Johnny Depp back to her planet, he knows he should run away screaming. But with one look from her mean, green eyes, David’s hooked, and soon he’s leaping across rooftops, running from police, and stealing cars just to stay by her side. He might not be a typical hero, but David’s going to get the girl even if it takes him to the ends of the earth—or beyond.

Mailbox Monday is a weekly post where I talk about the books that have arrived in my house over the last week.

Marcia at The Printed Page hosts the Mailbox Monday Blog Tour. This month’s host is Julie @ Knitting and Sundries.

Leave a note here with what new reads came your way (and any thoughts about mine), then check out some other blogs!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2010 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Mrs. Q: Book Addict

    November 22, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    Spinning Out looks interesting. I agree, a whole ban would make me sad as well.

     
  2. Mary

    November 22, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    The second title made me laugh 🙂

     
  3. Mystica

    November 22, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    Both out of my genre! Enjoy the reading.

     
  4. Rebecca Rasmussen

    November 23, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Both of these look pretty fun 🙂

     
  5. Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

    November 26, 2010 at 9:17 am

    What fun sounding books! Enjoy them both!

    Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

     

Leave a Reply

 
