RSS

Mailbox Monday

15 Nov

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.It is with considerable relief that I announce that I only received one book in my mailbox last week.

It was in a package of  bookish treats, courtesy of My Friend Amy.  After attending Comic-con in San Diego, she offered several giveaways of goodies she’d acquired there. I was the backup winner when one bundle went unclaimed!

Death's Daughter (Calliope Reaper-Jones, #1)The book was Death’s Daughter by Amber Benson. The package also included a cool Dark Horse Comics tote bag, and a variety of promotional pins, bookmarks and other cool stuff (including a key-chain flashlight!). Thank you Amy!

I also bought two new books last week, but we already own them, and I plan to read them very carefully and then pass them on to The Gift of Reading.

The books are Rick Riordan’s The Sea of Monsters and The Battle of the Labyrinth.   My daughter brought her copies of all the Percy Jackson books  into the classroom, since they were going to read these books (along with other books somehow tying into Greek Mythology) for their lit groups.  I ended up being the adult supervision for the two groups listed above, and there weren’t enough copies for the adults, so we had to find our own.

I’d read The Sea of Monsters, but not recently enough to discuss it. That’s as far as I’d gotten with the series.  It looks like I’ll be skipping Book 3, at least for the moment.

Mailbox Monday is a weekly post where I talk about the books that have arrived in my house over the last week.

Marcia at The Printed Page hosts the Mailbox Monday Blog Tour. This month’s host is Julie @ Knitting and Sundries.

Leave a note here with what new reads came your way (and any thoughts about mine), then check out some other blogs!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2010 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Heather

    November 15, 2010 at 8:53 am

    i understand not really wanting too many more books to arrive at this time. My bookshelf runneth over, and over, and over.

    What a terrific package.

     
  2. Cathy

    November 15, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    Enjoy your book!

     
  3. bermudaonion

    November 16, 2010 at 8:09 am

    I know what you mean – I’ve had a couple slow weeks and it feels pretty good. Happy reading!

     
  4. Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

    November 16, 2010 at 10:10 am

    It took me a couple of minutes to stop laughing after your “It is with considerable relief” announcement! I LOVE books, but I really need to stop for a bit; my review pile is .. well, it doesn’t fit in the allocated space any longer, and my personal TBR pile is … well, much more than one pile .. kind of like 5 HUGE piles … congrats on the win! The prize pack sounds fab!

     
  5. Anna (Diary of an Eccentric)

    November 18, 2010 at 10:18 am

    I know my shelves can use a 1-book week! I haven’t received anything this week so far. Happy reading!

     

Leave a Reply

 
