RSS

Review: Virals by Kathy Reichs

14 Nov

ViralsOnce I adapted to the teen/comic book style, I quite enjoyed it. After reading Kathy Reichs’ adult books, I was expecting realism, and that’s not what this book is.

Virals features a group of teens that live on an island with a very small population. They commute to school via ferry, and they don’t fit in at their fancy prep school that they attend by arrangement with their parent’s employer.

Their spare time is spent exploring their island, and now, thanks to Ben’s newly acquired boat, neighboring islands.

All the kids are bright but quirky, and Tory has an extra dose of each going on. She’s also a dedicated animal lover, so when a wolf/dog puppy goes missing on the island where her father works, she springs into action.

It’s the kind of action where everything lines up to allow the kids to accomplish the impossible, but they succeed in rescuing the puppy. This has some unforeseen consequences, the kind that take it into science fiction.

It’s all in good fun! The kids explore the changes in themselves while tracking down several different bad guys and trying to survive high school. Not everyone or everything is as it originally appears, but they persevere in resolving most if not all of the questions that confront them.

I liked the touches of forensics that Tory learned from her short amount of time with her Aunt Tempe– the one from Reich’s other books.

The characters are drawn brightly but not deeply– there isn’t a lot of depth to the book, and it never tries to claim otherwise.  I’ll pass my copy on to my daughter.  I don’t think it will become a favorite, but I think she’ll enjoy it like I did.

I read an Advance Review Copy passed on by another blogger, Pam of Bookalicious, since I missed out on getting a copy at BEA. Thanks to Pam and to Penguin Books!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2010 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Review: Virals by Kathy Reichs

  1. Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

    November 16, 2010 at 10:15 am

    I think I’d really like this book as a lighter break between heavier reads. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

     

Leave a Reply

 
