RSS

October Wrapup

02 Nov

October was a fun but busy month, with many things that got in the way of reading and blogging.  Most were good, some not so much.

Here’s what I read:

  • Books on paper
    1. The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi
    2. Edge of Sight (The Guardian Angelinos #1) by Roxanne St. Claire
    3. Live to Tell by Wendy Corsi Staub
    4. The Year My Sister Got Lucky by Aimee Friedman
    5. When He Was Wicked (Bridgertons #6) by Julia Quinn
    6. The Thousand by Kevin Guilfoile
  • Books on my Nook
    1. Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese
    2. Fair Game by Josh Lanyon
  • Books on my MP3 player
    1. Claude and Camille by Stephanie Cowell
    2. A Fatal Grace (Armand Gamache #2) by Louise Penny
    3. So Cold the River by Michael Koryta
    4. The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1) by Patrick Ness

After thinking through my month, I’m actually surprised I read as much as I did!  I’m happy with amount of reading I did, even if it is less than in prior months.

My best reading/blogging preventer was Bouchercon.  Other things were getting a new computer and having to migrate to it and getting a cold and having to deal with it.  A couple of books I read slowly also made a difference.  TV watching time cut into my audiobook listening, and I also listened to more podcasts, just because I felt like it.

The best book of the month was very clearly Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese.  I found it very slow going, but I enjoyed reading it, and loved the book as a whole.   I had a number of books  this month that had very clear strengths, but I also had significant issues with them. I think that’s better than “meh” books, where they are just fine all around.

My yearly totals are 152 books total: 79 paper books, 12 Nook books, 62 audio books.

I’m not as happy with the quantity of reviews posted (9), and will work harder on that this month.

Coming up in November, I have The Solitude of Prime Numbers by Paolo Giordano for one book club, The Opposite of Me by Sarah Pekkanen for the other.  I have Outside the Ordinary World by Dori Ostermiller and A Secret Gift by Ted Gup for blog tours.  I’m hoping to read Wolf in the Shadows by Marcia Muller and A Piece of Justice by Jill Paton Walsh for discussion with the Laurie R. King Virtual Book Club.

How was your October, reading wise?  What are you looking forward to in November.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 2, 2010 in books, summary

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “October Wrapup

  1. Sue Jackson

    November 2, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    I think you did pretty well for such a busy month! Busy here, too, but it’s only going to get more hectic from now until January!

    I’m dying to read Cutting for Stone – I’ve heard such great things about it! It was one of the choices for my book group this week, but another book won the vote. I’ll just have to read it on my own.

    Happy November!

    Sue

     
  2. gerald miller

    November 2, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    I read one book In October(not much of a reader).Operation Mincemeat by Ben Macintyre on my Kindle.A retelling of “The Man Who Never Was” based on the records of that books author.Not as good as I had hoped but very readable.Ger

     
  3. Book Publisher

    November 7, 2010 at 10:26 am

    I love this site- I got to the end of Captain Correlli’s Mandolin for the 5th time in October, excellent work.

     
  4. Julie @ Knitting and Sundires

    November 8, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    I have The Windup Girl on my shortlist for the Steampunk challenge; but I’ve seen many mixed reviews. The definite list is the Parasol Protectorate series and Westerfield’s Leviathan and Behemoth! You got a lot of good books in!

     

Leave a Reply

 
