RSS

Mailbox Monday

31 Oct

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.My mailbox settled down a bit this week.  This is good, since my reading has been slow this month as well.
I had one book arrive from Europa Editions.  The cool thing about these books are that they are completely different from what I usually read, but I’m always intrigued by them.  That’s true with this one as well:

HeliopolisHeliopolis by James Scudamore

Summary from EuropaEditions.com:

Born in a São Paulo shantytown, Ludo undergoes a remarkable transformation from one side of the city’s impermeable social divide to the other. Rescued and raised by a plutocrat, Zeno Generoso, Ludo finds himself entrenched in the gated, guarded community of the super-rich.

Now twenty-seven, Ludo works for a vacuous “communications company” that markets unwanted, unaffordable products aimed at the very underclass into which he was born and from which he escaped. To make matters more complicated, he has developed an obsessive, adulterous love for his adoptive sister, whose husband is his only friend.

Ludo’s involvement in an ill-conceived supermarket launch aimed at the favela’s desperately poor population risks embroiling him in a world of violence and brutality. By turns darkly humorous and poignant, James Scudamore’s Booker Prize-nominated novel is a highly original, surprising take on the rags-to-riches story.

I mentioned here a while back that my friend Ruth won a year of books for our book club. (We’ve already read and discussed one!) She received and distributed another one this week, and so I came home with:

Good Enough to Eat Good Enough to Eat by Stacey Ballis

Summary via Goodreads.com:

Melanie Hoffman has accomplished three things in life she is truly proud of: first, she found Andrew, a man who loved her despite her size. Second, she left her cushy job as a lawyer to open a cafe specializing in delicious food that is also healthy. And finally, Mel lost half her body weight through dieting and exercise. She’s finally happy, healthy, and becoming content with life.

It’s an under-the-belt blow, then, when Andrew announces he’s leaving Melanie – for a woman twice her size. She’s also struggling financially while she’s trying to make the cafe a success. Trying to rebuild, Mel turns to her fellow employees and they help her realize who she really is and what family means.

I also bought some books from Audible (with credits).  Unless there’s a sale, I usually just buy them as I listen to them, but I couldn’t decide between these three!

All Clear

All Clear by Connie Willis

I read the first half of this book (Blackout)on paper when it came out. I loved it, but was very unhappy as I approached the end and realized there was no way it was going to wrap up. Sure enough, there are another 600+ pages to go. I was eager to get this when it was released a couple of weeks ago, but there was no way I could get to it before this. I wasn’t sure about switching from print to audio, but I’ll have a much easier time working it in this way.

The Cruelest Month (Armand Gamache Series #3)

The Cruelest Month by Louise Penny

I’m enjoying this series!

Shards of Honor (Vorkosigan Saga, #1)

Shards of Honor by Lois McMaster Bujold

This author has repeatedly been recommended to me.

Mailbox Monday is a weekly post where I talk about the books that have arrived in my house over the last week.

Marcia at The Printed Page hosts the Mailbox Monday Blog Tour. This month’s host is Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

Leave a note here with what new reads came your way (and any thoughts about mine), then check out some other blogs!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2010 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

11 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Leslie

    October 31, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    Connie Willis is one of my favorite authors. I was waiting for Blackout to come out in paperback because I didn’t want to haul around an 800 page hardcover book! I’m glad you liked it, I’m pretty sure I will too. I have also had Lois McMaster Bujold recommended. Enjoy your books.

     
  2. Mary

    November 1, 2010 at 5:12 am

    Nice mailbox books. I have Good Enough to Eat and hope to read it soon. Have a great week!

     
  3. Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

    November 1, 2010 at 6:33 am

    Heliopolis sounds exceedingly good! I’d love to see what you think of it! How fun that your friend won a year of books for your book club!

    Enjoy all the reads (and listens)!

     
  4. bermudaonion

    November 1, 2010 at 6:53 am

    I really want to read Good Enough to Eat – I’ve heard great things about it. Have a great week in books!

     
  5. Alayne

    November 1, 2010 at 9:00 am

    Hmm I’m going to look up The Cruelest Month, as I love the cover! Happy reading! My mailbox is at The Crowded Leaf.

     
  6. Beth(bookaholicmom)

    November 1, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Good Enough to Eat looks like a good read. I have read one Louise Penny book and really enjoyed it. I will have to keep an eye out for this one.

     
  7. Marce

    November 1, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Good enought to Eat sounds different and interesting, can’t wait for your review on that one.

    My IMM

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2010/10/in-my-mailbox-correct-link.html

     
  8. Mrs. Q: Book Addict

    November 1, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    Enjoy your new books. Good Enough to Eat looks great.

     
  9. Just Mom

    November 1, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    I find that audio can get me through some long books that I just would never manage in print -Ken Follett comes to mind! I am jealous abotu Good Enough to Eat – that’s on my wish list right now. Enjoy your books!

     
  10. Anna (Diary of an Eccentric)

    November 3, 2010 at 10:27 am

    These all sound good. Happy reading!

     
  11. Sharon

    November 8, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Good Enough To Eat looks really good to me (Good Enough to Read) 🙂 Happy reading!

     

Leave a Reply

 
