RSS

MM: Books from Bouchercon

18 Oct

This is a special Bouchercon edition of Mailbox Monday.  My regularly scheduled list of books will resume next week, including last weeks other acquisitions.

I was lucky enough to attend Bouchercon (the world mystery convention) last week.  I’ve added a lot of authors to my list to check out, and was reminded of many others that I’ve read and liked, and need to return to.

I didn’t buy any new books, but this was really due more to my being overwhelmed than an intention to behave myself.

However, between the books in my goody bag, the books that my wonderful roommate didn’t want to haul back home with her (she flew, but my husband came to pick me up and bring me and my stuff home), the books on the chairs at the opening ceremonies, and the books just randomly appearing here are there, I came home with a LOT of books.

Honestly, I’m not sure they are all to my taste.  I decided I’d wait until I got home to decide for sure.

My top picks

Locked RoomsLocked Rooms by Laurie R. King

I’m cheating a little by including this on the list, because I’ve already read it.  Lots of times.  And own it.  3 copies.

But it was in my bag.  And in spite of owning it already, it brought a smile to my face to see it, both because I love it, and because I knew this meant other attendees were being introduced to it.  Locked Rooms is a great mystery, but it also is a great San Francisco book.

Live to TellLive to Tell by Wendy Corsi Staub

I wasn’t familiar with the author, but was intrigued by the description on the back.  I picked this one up to read during those spare minutes here and there– I’m an introvert, I need some non-people time!

I then had a chance to have it signed by the author.  I didn’t take many of these opportunities, which were numerous, but I did in this case.

I’ve finished reading it, I enjoyed it, and my review should be coming soon.

The Doomsday Key (Sigma Force, #6)The Doomsday Key by James Rollins

I appear to have been living under a rock, because I wasn’t familiar with James Rollins.

However, both Debbie at Debbie’s World of Books and Robin at My Two Blessings conveyed enough excitement to launch my copy (from my chair at the opening ceremonies) into my top picks.

I didn’t make it to his panel, or get his autograph.  Maybe next time.

The rest

All of these books have some appeal, based on their cover descriptions.  There are some authors I’m familiar with, and others that are completely new to me.  Let me know if there are any of these I should bump to the top of the list!

Body Heat  (Dept 6 Hired Guns, #2)61 Hours (Jack Reacher Series #14)Three SecondsThe Solomon EffectMargarita NightsFatal Lies (Liebermann Papers, #3)Level 26
And I don’t have cover images for these:

Ghost Country by Patrick Lee
Come and Find Me by Hallie Ephron
The Anatomy of Ghosts by Andrew Taylor

Thank you to the publishers for providing the books, and to all of the people that make Bouchercon happen.  A big thank you to Vicki Van Valkenburgh, for encouraging me to attend!

Now, where am I going to put all of these?

Mailbox Monday is a weekly post where I talk about the books that have arrived in my house over the last week.

Marcia at The Printed Page hosts the Mailbox Monday Blog Tour. This month’s home is She Reads and Reads.

Leave a note here with what new reads came your way (and any thoughts about mine), then check out some other blogs!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2010 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “MM: Books from Bouchercon

  1. Jenn's Bookshelves

    October 18, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    Of course I’m going to suggest that you bump 61 Hours to the top of the list!

     
  2. Marie

    October 18, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    How fun! What a great haul. Sounds like a fun event, too!

     
  3. Pam

    October 18, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Great haul!

     
  4. Mary

    October 18, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    Wow, enjoy all the new books! Bouchercon sounds so great!

     
  5. dsuzuki

    October 18, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    Sounds like you had a lot of fun. I hope you enjoy The Doomsday Key. I recall really enjoying it.

     
  6. Patty

    October 19, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Your books sound terrific…I do love those authors and have read their books…this week I am reading Kailin Gow books…fast and yummy…

     
  7. avisannschild

    October 19, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Can’t say I’m familiar with any of these authors other than Laurie R. King (although I haven’t read Locked Rooms yet). Hope there are some good ones in the pile!

     

Leave a Reply

 
