RSS

Mailbox Monday

10 Oct

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.My mailbox was empty this week, and the new physical books that came into the house (via the Scholastic Book Fair at my daughter’s school) weren’t for me. Although I have vague thoughts of getting to the fifth Percy Jackson book someday.

I thought I’d take this chance to catch up on the books that have arrived electronically, since I often forget to mention these.

So my Audible.com credits brought me these for my MP3 player:

So Cold the River by Michael Kortya

I picked this one due to a recommendation from Jen at Devourer of Books.

It started with a documentary. The beautiful Alyssa Bradford approaches Eric Shaw to unearth the life story of her father-in-law, Campbell Bradford, a 95-year-old billionaire whose childhood is wrapped in mystery. Eric grabs the job, even though the only clues to Bradford’s past are his hometown and an antique water bottle he’s kept his entire life.
In Bradford’s hometown, Eric discovers an extraordinary past – a glorious domed hotel where movie stars, presidents, athletes, and mobsters once intermingled. Long derelict, the hotel has just been restored to its former grandeur.
But something else has been restored too – a long-forgotten evil that will stop at nothing to settle a decades-old score. And with every move, Eric inches closer to the center of the building storm.

The City & The CityThe City and The City by China Miéville

I’ve been hearing about this book all year, but I finally pushed it up to the top of the queue when it won the Hugo (along with The Windup Girl, already on my shelf, and which I plan to read this month.)

When a murdered woman is found in the city of Beszel, somewhere at the edge of Europe, it looks to be a routine case for Inspector Tyador Borlof the Extreme Crime Squad. But as he investigates, the evidence points to conspiracies far stranger and more deadly than anything he could have imagined.
Borl must travel from the decaying Beszel to the only metropolis on Earth as strange as his own. This is a border crossing like no other, a journey as psychic as it is physical, a shift in perception, a seeing of the unseen. His destination is Beszel’s equal, rival, and intimate neighbor, the rich and vibrant city of Ul Qoma.
With Ul Qoman detective Qussim Dhatt, and struggling with his own transition, Borl is enmeshed in a sordid underworld of rabid nationalists intent on destroying their neighboring city, and unificationists who dream of dissolving the two into one. As the detectives uncover the dead woman’s secrets, they begin to suspect a truth that could cost them and those they care about more than their lives.
What stands against them are murderous powers in Beszel and in Ul Qoma: and, most terrifying of all, that which lies between these two cities.

The Winds of Marble Arch by Connie Willis

I had a bonus from Audible, and I used it (or most of it) to buy this novella from one of my favorite authors.

Tom, an American, is in London for a conference when he begins to experience unusual forces in the Underground. Is it an easily-explained phenomenon – or ghosts from Britain’s past?

On my Nook:

I spent some time looking around at upcoming books on NetGalley this weekend, and downloaded

Dead Lift by Rachel Brady

Single mom Emily Locke is building a new life with her daughter. Hoping to spend more time at home, she’s put her career on hold to work part time for her private investigator friend, Richard Cole. It’s a nice balance between work and family until Emily finds out she’s been working for the attorney that defended her husband’s killer.

The discovery nearly destroys her friendship with Richard, but Emily resists abandoning his client, the socialite Carissa Gaston, who awaits trial for the murder of a local plastic surgeon. The threat of losing her children to a self serving ex husband terrifies Carissa more than the specter of a life behind bars. Sympathetic to a mother’s fears and unconvinced of Carissa’s guilt, Emily resolves to stick with the case despite her growing concerns about Richard and the dubious attorney who hired him.

A mysterious note leads her into a daring undercover ruse at a high brow ladies health club. Impervious to fashion trends, disinterested in beauty treatments, Emily fakes conformity with Houston’s elite debutantes and trophy wives in a surreal fitness subculture where things, and people, are seldom what they seem. At this gym, “killer workout” has a whole new meaning.

Drop Dead Divas by Virgina Brown

In Book One of the Divas mystery series, middle-aged and divorced, Trinket Truevine moves home to live with her aging parents in genteel and historic Cherry Hill, Mississippi. The Dixie Divas, a rowdy group of local belles, embrace her like a lost sister. Trinket soon finds herself and the Divas in the middle of a murder mystery surrounding the death of their pal Bitty’s ex-husband, a philandering senator. Fun, fast-paced and very southern, DIXIE DIVAS will appeal to readers who love the Ya-Ya’s, the Sweet Potato Queens, and Haywood Smith’s Red Hat Club novels.

Now, in the sequel, DROP DEAD DIVAS, welcome back to a genteel world of pimento cheese finger sandwiches, tall libations in frosted glasses, stiletto heels, aging southern-belle sisterhood, and murder . . .

The Divas are sleuthing again. Town bad-girl Naomi Spencer has been accused of murdering her fiance, drag race champion Race Champion. Soon, Naomi turns up dead, too. Talk about a fly in the martini . . . Join the bawdy fun as Trinket, Bitty and the gang unravel another small-town mystery.

From Barnes & Noble’s Friday Free Books:
Enchanting the Lady by Kathryne Kennedy

In a Victorian London where titles are based on the inheritance of magical powers, a were-lion’s obsessive quest for Merlin’s magical relics will threaten his love for a disinherited duchess—as well as their very lives.

Mailbox Monday is a weekly post where I talk about the books that have arrived in my house over the last week.

Marcia at The Printed Page hosts the Mailbox Monday Blog Tour. This month’s home is She Reads and Reads.

Leave a note here with what new reads came your way (and any thoughts about mine), then check out some other blogs!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2010 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

13 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. jendevourerofbooks

    October 11, 2010 at 4:33 am

    Oh, you will love the audios of “THE CITY & THE CITY” and “SO COLD THE RIVER!”

     
    • Laura

      October 11, 2010 at 2:46 pm

      I did love The City and The City! So Cold the River is really good, but creeping me out. It may not be what I’m in the mood for, so I may need to get something else to listen to right now.

       
  2. Kim V

    October 11, 2010 at 4:50 am

    Drop Dead Divas sounds like a lot of fun. I might have to check this series out.

    Happy reading!

     
  3. Mary

    October 11, 2010 at 6:37 am

    So Cold the River is on my wish list. My mailbox had a cookbook for review and a couple of good looking novels 🙂

     
  4. Coffee and a Book Chick

    October 11, 2010 at 7:16 am

    Oh, these look great! The City and the City sounds really intriguing! Here’s my Mailbox: Coffee and a Book Chick — Mailbox Monday…

     
  5. Marce

    October 11, 2010 at 9:59 am

    I have seen a few of these. I am staying away from Netgallery until I don’t feel overwelmed with what is on my list already.

     
    • Laura

      October 11, 2010 at 2:42 pm

      I headed to NetGalley because the books I got there last time had expired, and I wanted to make sure my Nook was well stocked. It’s a really dangerous place 🙂 !

       
  6. Jacki

    October 11, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    Funny, I finally broke down and ordered the 5th Percy Jackson, through my son’s Scholastic Book program. Enchanting the Lady has caught my interest.

     
  7. Elizabeth

    October 11, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Stopping by from She Reads and Reads’ post for Mailbox Monday.

    Have a great week.

    Stop by my blog if you like.

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

    Enjoy your books.

     
  8. Holly

    October 11, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    All of these are new to me. Enjoy!!

     
  9. Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

    October 11, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    I’m very curious about “The City and the City” … very good eBook week for you!

    Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

     
  10. Mystica

    October 12, 2010 at 2:08 am

    The city and the city has got such good reviews. I am sure you would love it.

     
  11. Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books)

    October 13, 2010 at 6:57 am

    Hi Laura – I just found your blog via someone else’s (Hey Lady! Whatcha Reading? I think). Anyway, I’m really enjoying it. Sounds like you got some fun books this week. I have one coming from Kortya, although I don’t think it’s SO COLD THE RIVER. I’m excited to try out this new-to-me author.

     

Leave a Reply

 
