RSS

Readathon!?!

08 Oct

24 Hour ReadathonI love the Read-a-Thon!

I’ve participated in the last 3, and was very disappointed when I looked at my calendar for this one, and realized that I just had too much going on to be able to commit the time for this one.

I really can’t afford the time, but I’m going to try to participate a little– cheer for a while, read for a few hours, maybe take on one mini-challenge.

See you there!

And what has me so busy?  Well, beyond the usual mom stuff, I need to get myself and my family ready for me to take a few days next week and head to Bouchercon!!!

I’m really looking forward to spending that time with other mystery fans as well as some great authors, including my favorite, Laurie R. King.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2010 in Readathon

 

Tags:

8 responses to “Readathon!?!

  1. Colette @ A Buckeye Girl Reads

    October 9, 2010 at 7:41 am

    I had to work today, and really didn’t think I could do it either, but decided to give it a try. Good luck today and have lots of fun!
    Team Simile 🙂

     
  2. Irish

    October 9, 2010 at 8:12 am

    Glad to know I’m not the only one the read-a-thon snuck up on. LOL You’re conference sounds fun….and good lcuk with any and all reading/cheering you do! 🙂

     
  3. softdrink

    October 9, 2010 at 8:14 am

    (Non)traditional Buddhist readathon blessing:

    Just as the books fill the shelves,
    Pile together on the floor and stack up on the table
    So may the joy of the readathon
    Flow forth to brighten your day and lift your spirit.
    Books already read, books in progress and books yet to be read.

    By the power of every word on the page
    May your book be delightful,
    As scary as Lovecraft’s Cthulhu
    Or as sweet as a box of See’s candy.

    Let the power of the images evoked by words
    Keep you stay awake long through the night
    May no obstacle impede
    Your day filled with books.

    For all of those who are reading today
    Who follow in the path of Dewey
    May your day be filled with the four blessings
    Of fabulous books, tasty snacks, comfy chairs and joy.

     
  4. Florinda

    October 9, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    A little Readathon is better than none at all! I don’t think I’ll be doing any of the mini-challenges, but I’m not doing badly with the actual reading.

    Happy Readathon Day!

     
  5. Marg

    October 9, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    I can’t do the whole thing either. Like you I will cheer a bit, sleep a bit, read a bit!

    Hope you enjoy your readathon experience however you choose to participate!

     
  6. Ladytink_534

    October 9, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    I’ve never played and I’ve been blogging for several years now. I always seem to have prior engagements that interfere 😦

     
  7. softdrink

    October 9, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    1, 2, 3, 4
    Hope your book isn’t a bore
    5, 6, 7, 8
    And your readathon is going great!

     
  8. Cass

    October 9, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    It’s getting late, this much is true;
    But you’re nearing the home plate! Don’t be blue!

     

Leave a Reply

 
