RSS

September wrap-up

01 Oct

Although you can’t tell from the end results, this was a very up & down reading month for me.

I had weeks where I read lots of books, and weeks where I read almost none.  Some of this was the minor eye surgery I had, the start of the TV season, and just my mood in general.

The quality of the books was also more uneven than usual, particularly the audiobooks.  The majority of the books I read end up rated 4 stars.  I genuinely enjoy the majority of books I read.  I’m usually pretty good at making choices that work for me, but I’m hard to REALLY impress.  My audio books had two rare 5 star listens (although one was listening to a favorite book that I’ve read many, many times) and one incredibly rare 2.5 star listen.

So, here’s my final list:

Paper books:

  • 4.5 stars The Heart is Not a Size by Beth Kephart
  • 3 stars Dangerous Desires (A-Tac #2) by Dee Davis
  • 4.5 stars Russian Winter by Daphne Kalotay
  • 4 stars The Chesapeake Diaries: Home Again by Mariah Stewart
  • 4 stars Real Life & Liars by Kristina Riggle
  • 3 stars The Seven Year Bitch by Jennifer Belle
  • 4 stars Coming Home (Chesapeake Diaries Series #1) by Mariah Stewart
  • 4 stars Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love by Larry Levin
  • 3.5 stars The Life You’ve Imagined by Kristina Riggle

Audio books:

  • 4+ stars The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
  • 4.25 stars Skulduggery Pleasant (Skulduggery Pleasant #1) by Derek Landy
  • 3.5 stars Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
  • 3.5 stars Dirty Laundry (Sofie Metropolis, #2) by Tori Carrington
  • 5 stars The City & The City by China Miéville
  • 2.5 stars When We Were Orphans by Kazuo Ishiguro
  • 3.5 stars Sofie Metropolis (Sofie Metropolis, #1) by Tori Carrington
  • 5 stars Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild

Nook Books:

  • 3.75 The Absolute Value of -1 by Steve Brezenoff

I also read more than half of Nora Roberts’ Black Hills.  I’m normally a big fan, but this one wasn’t working for me.  Since it was strictly for fun, I went on to another book.

So, my totals are 9 paper books, 8 audio books, 1 Nook book for a total of 18 books.  This puts my total for the year at 140 books (73 paper, 10 Nook books, 58 audio!). I’m not reading as much on my Nook this month because my backlog of Nook books isn”t going to hurt anyone if it falls over.  Several have expired, which is sad.

My top book for the month was The City & The City, followed by Russian Winter.

I wrote 12 full reviews and 4 shorter reviews for a Book Club Bytes post that covered 5 book club books and my group’s discussion of them.  I’m starting to fall behind, although it looks worse than it is because I’ve finished reading 6 books in the last 3 days.  It will take me a while to review those.  I do need to step up my pace a little.

Looking ahead to next month, I’m reading The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi as part of a readalong with several other bloggers– feel free to join us!   I’m reading Edge of Sight by Roxanne St. Claire for a Hachette Blog Tour (complete with Twitter Party)!  Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese and  Claude & Camille: A Novel of Monet by Stephanie Cowell are my two book club picks for the month.  I’ll try to get some spooky reads in as well!

How was your reading month?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 1, 2010 in books, summary

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “September wrap-up

  1. Melissa

    October 1, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    Laura, 140 books is incredible! Simply awesome. I’ll be interested to see what you think of Claude and Camille. I read it during the summer but just haven’t posted my review of it yet.

     

Leave a Reply

 
